A camel, a goat, and a few good deals


Advertisement
Oman's flag
Middle East » Oman » Buraimi
May 31st 2008
Published: June 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

A two hour road trip to Oman was just what I needed to remind me that I am a world away from home. We crossed the border to Oman and found ourselves haggling for antiques in stores with no air conditioning, drinking cokes out of bottles that cost about 30 cents from the local coffee shop, and eating hummus and cherries for lunch on the top of the only mountain in the entire country.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

A Camel...in a truckA Camel...in a truck
A Camel...in a truck

We saw this guy on our way to Oman.
Um...that's a goatUm...that's a goat
Um...that's a goat

There's not much more to say, really.
Getting a good deal!Getting a good deal!
Getting a good deal!

Barb and Hassan haggle with the local shopkeeper. Thank goodness for Hassan, he was such a nice guy and a great help.
Cheap stuff makes me happyCheap stuff makes me happy
Cheap stuff makes me happy

This is apparently the face I make when I get a good deal. And who bought that hat? Sheesh.
Our picnic spotOur picnic spot
Our picnic spot

This is where we had lunch. Apparently this mountain is known for the Mini Cooper ad that came out a few years ago...I never saw that ad but here's the mountain.


Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0517s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb