Istanbul and Gallipoli


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey
September 18th 2006
Published: October 6th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Turkey is the first Muslim country that I've been to, and so far I like it. I think they've still got a bit of work to do before they'll be a part of the EU, but there are a lot of cool things to do and see here for sure. 2weeks wasn't nearly enough time for a decent look around, but I saw quite a lot and got out of there with out buying a carpet so I did allright. I started off with a few days in Istanbul, then headed over to the West to check out Gallipoli and all the ANZAC stuff. I really enjoyed that, and even got picked up by a couple of Turkish guys who showed me all the spots, bought me a t-shirt, drove me back to Gallipoli and bought me dinner so I had a great day! Gallipoli is actually just a fishing town about a half/hr away from where the Anzacs landed and all the action took place. nice spot though, and real good seafood! A few things I've learnt about Turkey - they have prayer time 5 times a day where Prayers blast out from the towers by the mosques and the
typical Turkish breakfasttypical Turkish breakfasttypical Turkish breakfast

check out that tea cup - they're every where here!
Religous people stop what they're doing and get on their knees and pray. you're not allowed to cross your legs during prayer time. Turkish delight is called "Lokum" here, and it's a lot better then anything I've had before. Most of the men in Tourism are pretty dodgey so girls get quite a hard time, but other then that the people are generaly nice. Everyone smokes too. I met this one dude who smokes 4packs of Malborough Reds a day! stray cats and Shoe-shiners rule most cities, and I reckon everyone drinks about 5ltrs of tea every day. all of the above however happens around the Back-gammon table and Shisha pipes. pretty cruisey lifestyle in general, but quite an expensive place to travel.


Additional photos below
Photos: 33, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Turkey in a shop windowTurkey in a shop window
Turkey in a shop window

Carpets, cusions, Jewelery and Shisha Pipes, there's no escaping
fishermenfishermen
fishermen

these guys go hard all day, catching tiny little fish out of the fast flowing inlet
meet Gurkai and "his car"meet Gurkai and "his car"
meet Gurkai and "his car"

I got talking to this guy on the beach the day I arrived in Istanbul, and he took me on a bike ride all around the harbour and down under the Europe/Asia bridges... nice guy, but just wouldn't shut up about shagging tourists!
a stones throw from Asiaa stones throw from Asia
a stones throw from Asia

that bridge links Europe to Asia
trying my luck with Back-Gammontrying my luck with Back-Gammon
trying my luck with Back-Gammon

Dad you'll be happy to know that your coaching over the years finally paid off cos I won a few games against the pros. I mean look at this guys shoes! and I beat him!!
the Baslica Cistern(I think thats what it's called)the Baslica Cistern(I think thats what it's called)
the Baslica Cistern(I think thats what it's called)

this is an old underground water suply that just has fish and peoples lucky coins swimming in it now. pretty impressive, over a 100m long if I remember correctly
cleansingcleansing
cleansing

the Religous Muslims will wash their hands, feet and face after every prayer time.
real deal Turkish Kebabsreal deal Turkish Kebabs
real deal Turkish Kebabs

if you pay anyting less then 2Lira you're probaby eating cat. stay above and you wont be let down.
Shave at the barbersShave at the barbers
Shave at the barbers

huge deal here, and a truely heavenly experience. although truth be told, you'll probably get a better finish with your Mac3
moke da peace pipe munmoke da peace pipe mun
moke da peace pipe mun

they're big into smoking fruit flavouvored Tobacco through these water pipes they call - Nargele
PopeyePopeye
Popeye

checkout the ash on his Ciggi!! too busy graffting to sort it out
eyes on the road mateeyes on the road mate
eyes on the road mate

this guy gave me a lift to Anzac cove, but I'm surprised I made it in one piece. I think he was drunk cos he was swerving all over the road and seemed to be aiming for the potholes


6th October 2006

amazing pics
Hey Russell Those photos are just great. They have really given me quite an insight into the country there. Oh and the turkish delight looks fantastic. Did you know you can smoke a shisha pipe in Ponsonby, just a few doors away from where I live? Lots of love Francie
6th October 2006

High five..
Great shots and stories to be told.. I'll be getting in on some of that Turkish delight and apple tea action when the folks get back tomorrow!!! ;) Stoked you're being so well looked after by the yocals xx
6th October 2006

a d
look at the size of russey compaired to the guy hes playing batgamon against! big foot uku mother-stuffer
6th October 2006

Didn't I tell ya?
Hey, Russ, back on the front page again! You did something interesting and - blam- look what happenes.... Nice to see you are once again a BLog-star. see you when I see you
14th October 2006

hey i've been following your blog for long time. now you are in my country i hope u had best times luw my country :) see u

Tot: 0.141s; Tpl: 0.027s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.1019s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb