My life...My town


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey
July 2nd 2006
Published: July 2nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hello from Anatolia. Gumushane that is.
I am well. Very well.

I have lived here in this mountain town for a month now.
This is a town about the size of Durango. But it has the feel of one the size of Telluride. Situated in a deep mountain valley, Gumushane is guarded by the three mountains that loom over it. The days are mostly sunny with the high temps in the 70s and 40s at night. Sometimes, afternoon storms rise and give moisture, cooling off the hill sides.

Turkish life here is at its most purest and safest. The Muslim peoples that make up the population here are the some of the most warm, curious, and kindest people i have ever met in this world. To so many i have become family. The amount of friends i have made is unreal. I am the only native english speaker in this town and only about 3 or 4 speak good english. It has mattered not. I have learned much Turkish and enjoy making the effort of communication. The novelty of me has worn off i think and am now just one of the people.
Most people are puzzled as to why in the hell an American is here to live for a month. I believe after i have explained that i wanted to live in a real Turkish town and learn its ways and to see and feel the truth of Islam do they understand the reasoning. I am the first one to do this they say, and am commended for it. Few to no americans wander this far east. Too bad for them. I have not seen a young backpacking tourist since leaving Moscow 2 months ago.
I had been wandering for 5 months. I was tiring of the daily grind of travel and thought much of the coming summer on the Plateau. I also felt the effects of 2 months of total indulgence. Like no human has indulged before. Everything. Anything i wanted. Esp. food. Sporadic exercise esp. after i left New Zealand, added to my physical decline. (my standards)
So, a great, beautiful place to watch the world cup and friends with english abilities i found. For all my reasons and to just relax and catch my breath. I found what i needed.


My friends.
They wish and hope that i will return and even more they desire to travel to America. I have so many stories, there is no way to share them all but a couple will do i think. Most of you are busy or on summer vacation so maybe this will not be read but by just a few.

I have been able to regain my fitness by lifting 4 days a week and going on D (distance) runs up into the hills 4 days a week as well. Two days a week I head up high to climb the peaks and high points of the mountain ranges of this region.

My diet has improved and become more consistent. Low fat and less overall calories coupled with triple the amount of exercise has produced the results i desired. Fresh fruit and vegetables are a staple.
I have made great friends at the place i lift and the place where i eat most of my meals.

One of my lifting partners is a health inspector. He certifies new and old restaurants and old style bakeries. I go with him sometimes on inspection trips up into mountain villages. The story is that i am an American inspector here to share and learn the ways of Turkish code. So, i walk around the place with a inspective eye, hands clasped behind my back. I am very important ....yes...... Good stuff and a good laugh.

I have been fortunate enough to learn the ways of Islam and also go to Mosque several times a week. I am friends with the Imam and have learned much from my close friends. I am a Muslim now and its up to me if i choose to live the path of a true Muslim. The goodness and logic of some of the ways are very, very good.

The insightful conversations with Ekrem and many others has been great for my perspective with regards to how most of us in the west view and understand the middle east. The truth is eye opening.
Mostly, i have enjoyed passing some of my time alone with much time for reverie. There is a creek up a side canyon where i will go to read and sleep by the small waterfall. There, alone under the shade of elm trees with my feet in the stream is where i can think and reflect.

Family life here has a certain purity and lack of negativity that plagues many in America. The culture here is so good and hurtful actions towards others is forbidden. It has felt soo good to exist in such an atmosphere.

So, like i said before, do your LIVES a favor and visit and explore these lands and meet its peoples. Do not just nod your head and say you understand... for a clue is what you do not have.

I feel good and now look forward with excitement and wonder to the upcoming times. I continue to learn about myself.

I am so fortunate to have lived here and learned what i have.

My whole trip has been ...just like an euphoric high my body and soul are overwhelmed by sometimes.

I leave in a couple of days and will talk to you again in Istanbul.

I hope everyone is having a great summer

Love
Jonathan



Remember Jill, Goonies never say die...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.343s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0556s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb