The catching of the breath


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey
June 11th 2006
Published: June 11th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hello

I hope everyone's summer is starting out well.
How can it not. It's summer!!. Sorry aunt Jean...
The World Cup started finally. De Dunya Kupasi as it is called here. Great stuff so far.
Too bad if you don't follow it. Its even better than the Tour de France Dorothy. Try it out.

I made my way back to where i started. Away from Iran and the mountain and back into Anatolia proper. I stopped in the town that Bertie and i had visited a few weeks before. I was dropped off into town near sunset and i (of course) was delayed by people stopping me and wanting to talk and meet me and have tea. I stashed my pack at the Otel and walked up towards the castle which was where the kids and families we had met lived and played. I was greeted by yells and screams of 'Jonathanabbi' . (older brother designation) They came running and we all hugged and went inside and i finally got to meet the father/husband of the one family we had really gotten to know. We talked and ate and had tea for quite a while. I knew significantly more turkish now and had a translation dict. now as well so we were able to fill in some gaps.
About to leave, saying our goodbyes, the father said through his daughter that he loved me and wished i could stay longer and hugged me goodbye.
A staunch Muslim man, conservative, hard working father of three hugging an American and yearning for him to stay longer.

My efforts to leave everyone with a different or newfound opinion of Americans is something i take pride in. No matter their words or opinions or apathy.
It just made my heart feel good, that is all.

Later that night i went up to the restaurant my other friends owned and ran. They were pretty shocked to see me and we caught up and feasted. They accept no money again but the next morning after breakfast and goodbyes i left them something.

Finally getting in here to my turkish 'hometown' felt good. Met up with my friends and i set up my avenues to structure my days and regain my fitness and just simply live life at 'Turkish speed'. The month i will live here in this town will break down like this.
A normal week will be distance runs down the valley or up into the mountains and playing basketball with the high school team kids that i met through one of their uncles who spoke english.
I found a gym and will make it work but it makes Pinons' gym look like Golds Gym. The Turkish guys there are great. I showed them my ab routine and it killed them. I should of gone easier but they wanted it. We will do some lifts together and they are Very curious about how to become lean and cut since they have more mass and less cut. Diet and Cardio my friends. Universal answer. They want to know much about America. So, good times are ahead.

I hike some of the days up into the mountains above the town. I explore the neighborhoods and make my way to shops and businesses that i know and share times and tea. İ will run the corner shop sometimes when Hincebe takes breaks. It sells everything and some of the people are confused as they leave. Did i go into the right store?? Funny. Above the shop are apartments and when the older ladies need something they drop a bag or bucket down by rope and it hangs there till you see it and with the help of a nearby kid, we put in what she needs and she hauls it back up. Payment back down, change back up. Good stuff.

I eat at the restaurant below the Otel i am staying in for what turns out to be 3.18$ a night. Great food but more on that another time.

Life is simple and real here and it sways to the tune of Islam.
I needed a break actually and am tired of the daily grind as many of you know with life on the road. I need to regain my fitness as well. In one spot to watch the cup is nice too. It all is just falling together. Good timing.

Summer is here and it will be a great season i think. Before i get back at the end of it, there is still much to see and do and experience in this world.

Wonderful times


Talk again in ten days or so....

Love Jonathan




Advertisement



Tot: 0.427s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 44; dbt: 0.053s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb