Too Much Turkey Is Delicious, But Will Make You Sick


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey » Mediterranean » Olympos
August 16th 2009
Published: August 16th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I'm Deliriously Tired.

So, Brad and I both puked on what was a 15 hour bus journey, with three transfers, back from the Mediterranean to Istanbul. Turns out we got a little too cocky- four days of drinking random spring water in the middle of nowhere, no problem, but drinking tap water back in what seemed to be civilization (STORES? Tourists? where the hell are we?!) got us both relatively ill.

We are both back in relatively fighting form, we're back in Istanbul, we just made the most delicious dinner anyone has ever eaten so cheaply in Istanbul, and I'm feeling good- except that I think I'm so tired the room is spinning a little bit.

In any case, the hike of ours was EXTRAORDINARY. Literally the most beautiful views, the most random and desperate side adventures, the most ghetto either of us has ever been. We drank tea and had Turkish lessons with locals, hitched on the back of tractors, and slept under the stars in the smallest of smallest towns ever (maybe 50 people. maybe), while walking for four days with no planning. Virtually unscathed.

Our adventure is winding down! We have a random (as usual) next couple of days planned for our last bit of Turkey, and then I am stoked to show Bub what food venues (because apparently that's all I talk about) are good in Cairo, with the added challenge of it being Ramadan, starting the 21st. I'm back in Canada on the 25th; I'm excited to see all of you! I warn you, Brad and I have literally changed races within the past month (we are poster children for melanoma).

Stacey



Advertisement



Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0538s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb