"What Do You Do?"


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey » Mediterranean » Kas
August 10th 2009
Published: August 10th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Brad and Sally, on their adventure in Hebron (while I had my adventure of finding my passport), met probably the coolest guy I've ever even heard of in my travels.

He was Italian, and his name was Phillipo. Brad asked him: "So, what do you do for a living?"
His answer: "I walk."

Dude apparently is a pilgrim. A Pilgrim. And that's what he does for a living- he just chills, and walks from place to place. With next to nothing. And yet looks more put together after 2 years of just Walking than we do after a day backpacking.

In any case, in honour of Phillipo, Bub and I have made probably our best spontaneous decision ever:

*On a day hike near the Meditarranean*
"I kind of don't want to go back to Fethiye (village west of our location at that time) and then head back the same direction to go to Olympus (city east- where we were destined eventually)"

"...well, I have all the stuff I could need for the next couple of days..."
"...yeah, we could walk."

So, we've been walking. with nothing but the clothes on our backs and whatever we had on us at the time. Insanely, we were prepared, with water, food, swimsuits, good walking shoes, charged electronics, sunscreen, and even a mini medical kit and a headlamp between us. So we've been walking. And plan to keep walking until we don't have any time left. Internet should be sparse.

This is the best, most hobo-esque idea I think we've ever had.

Stacey

Advertisement



Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0645s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb