hoooooooooooot


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey » Mediterranean » Antalya
May 30th 2009
Published: May 30th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Nessie and I are at an internet cafe before dinner with her family friend John and his archeology grad students who are meeting us here in Antalya. Today was a sweaty hot day. Im sure its nothing compared to what I am going to experience in SEA but ıts still really hot.

Went went to a giant ruin today called Termassos. It was very cool to see but not quite what I expected. There was a lot less structurally there than I had anticipated and it was up high ın the moutains with lots of trees and a dirt trail. I dont know why I expected an entire ancient cıty to still be standing...needless to say I was kınd of surprised. I was mostly frustrated by the fact that I made my footwear choice based on my imaginary idea of what an ancient anotalian ruin should look like... a glorious empire with stairs and buildings exactly the way the people had left it 2000 years ago...they all wore sandals similar to berkenstocks, right? Thankfully I made it out of there without a broken ankle and will never explore an archeological site without appropriate footwear again (I hate being that girl). The overprepared Germans (who wear mountain climbing boots and have climbing polls were starring at me with disgust).

When we got back to the city we wanted to go for a swim at the beach. We thought rather than do the 30 minute walk that we would wait for the tram. After waıitıng for about 15 minutes we realised that there is some flower festıval going on and that the tram wasnt running. Nobody told the Canadians about that. At this point we were so hot that we decided to get a drink and sit down and relax.

Tomorrow we are going to head to Perge and Aspendos (other ancient ruins) and then tomorrow night we are sleeping in Olympos in a tree house which should be fun.

More soon....

Love Poke/Nicole


Advertisement



Tot: 0.115s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.054s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb