On my own


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey » Marmara » Istanbul
April 26th 2006
Published: June 16th 2017
Edit Blog Post

01 Reflection01 Reflection01 Reflection

Some of the many columns and the reflection on the water.
Geo: 41.0078, 28.813

I am slowly catching up on lost sleep after going to Gallipoli. Had a great sleep in this morning. In the afternoon I treated myself to a big lunch of grilled salmon and an iced coffee- was one of the greatest meals I have had for a while.

A few metres away was the Basilica Cistern. There are 28 columns and it was built in 532. There is water at the bottom and quite a few fish. The pathway was very slippery- especially for me because I was wearing thongs. Now and then water dripped on my head from the ceiling. It was literally a cool place to spend some time.

Walked over to the Blue Mosque to see the courtyard- as our useless guide didn't take us there. Saw the Obelisk of Theodosius- which came from Egypt to commemorate someone's victories.

Thought I should have more of a better look around the Grand Bazaar. After a few minutes it began very repetitive and annoying. Am glad I found my way out of there and didn't get lost like others did.

Today was the first day since the tour started on the 28th of March that I have been on my own-
02 The ceiling02 The ceiling02 The ceiling

The ceiling of the cistern.
it had its positives and negatives.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

03 Garden03 Garden
03 Garden

Well looked after gardens in front of the Aya Sofya.
04 Courtyard04 Courtyard
04 Courtyard

The quiet courtyard of the Blue Mosque.
05 Taps05 Taps
05 Taps

This is where Muslims wash before entering the Mosque to pray.
06 Through the doorway06 Through the doorway
06 Through the doorway

View of the Mosque through a doorway
07 The Obelisk07 The Obelisk
07 The Obelisk

The Obelisk with the Aya Sofya in the background
08 Fountain08 Fountain
08 Fountain

A fountain near the Blue Mosque.
09 Grand Bazaar09 Grand Bazaar
09 Grand Bazaar

Inside the huge market.
10 Grand Bazaar10 Grand Bazaar
10 Grand Bazaar

Inside the market.


Tot: 0.033s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0173s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb