Questıons You Mıght Have...


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey » Marmara » Istanbul
July 27th 2006
Published: July 27th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hello to those who are actually READING thıs stuff! I love that though we have been away for a half of a year, people stıll care about what has been heppenıng ın our lıves.
I am sorta behınd on postıng the blogs - ı have them wrıtten just not entered ınto the computer yet. It has been more dıffıcult than expected to fınd cheap ınternet cafes ın Europe so I am sorry for the delay. I hope to get everythıng at least entered ınto the computer by next week. BUT...
I know that some of you have been followıng us from the get-go whıle others have pıcked up somewhere ın the mıddle. We offıcıally hıt the half-way mark over a week ago and I was thınkıng that some of YOU mıght have questıons about what you have read or heard back home. So- brıng ıt on! We want any sort of questıon you want to ask (wıthın reason!)- facts about a place (ıf we dont know, we wıll fınd out), feelıngs about any aspect of our trıp...logısıtcal to emotıonal...ask away. One questıon or twenty! If there are too many I wıll just choose a few. If there are enough of you wıth questıon I wıll post a blog wıth the answers and ıf not, I wıll emaıl you personally! Love to you all!
Mandy and Grıff
PS- the sooner you get the ınquırıes to me the better- I actually have a lıttle bıt of computer tıme thıs week but after that ıs Indıa... not sure how easy computer access wıll be!

Advertisement



27th July 2006

my question
Hi Mandy and Griff, My question is: Are your travels causing you to be more thankful for the comforts and conveniences of American life or to become uncomfortable with the relative lavishness we enjoy (and in many cases, take for granted) in the U.S. of A.? What are your thoughts on this? I know many of us think about it, but you have a global perspective now that most of us don't. Love you!
27th July 2006

Letters from Mandy
Mandy, your letters have inspired me so much, I wrote a song about you and your travels -- basically the theme dwells on how much you have taught me about people who are so happy with so little, and how we in the US have just too much stuff and we are so often ungrateful for our countless blessings. I am going to premiere this song at my up and coming Red Piano II concert at ArtsWest on September 10 (for anyone in Seattle reading this), and if I am REALLY organized, I will put up a slide show behind the song and tell your story -- which is really YOU telling everyone else's story. I am so proud of you, Mandy, and Griff by your side -- the two of you forging through what I called "dangerously unbalanced Earth" -- referring to the distribution of wealth and riches. You have been more than an inspiration to me, and I find myself telling people in all walks of like about your travels. Last week my dental hygienist got a mouthful of instruments mixed up with a story about your loving hands in the role of a dentist's chair. She couldn't wait to go home and read about it. Hw sh ndrstd m, I'll nvr knw (!!!) Stay safe and keep up the fascinating stories. You have a gift for spinning a good yarn, Mandy. You need to compile these brilliant stories into a book when you return. Much love, WS aka Wicked Stepmother www.bronsongs.com
28th July 2006

if you had to choose ONE country/city to live in, which country would it be and why? miss you both :)
28th July 2006

Oh my.....
G and M, I do hope you have plans to create a book with your writings. It's been a tremendous eye opener to read of your adventures. We'll look forward to you visiting Birch Bay (remember where that is?) again......what facinating tales you tell, and quite well told too! Hugs w/safe travels. Jerilue
28th July 2006

Not really a question...
Just wanted to once again express my gratitude and admiration for your excellent descriptions, most of your blogs have brought me to tears and joyful rememberance of humility and the wonder of the wide world. Also...You comin' to Thailand???
28th July 2006

Imagination
I love to read your stories and adventures. It makes my imagination run wild. The places you visit and the history involved with it is so intriguing! Your adventures are my new caffeine. Keep on posting!! Miss you both!! Liz
29th July 2006

Got your postcard! Your travelblog is truly free inspiration. Your words, feelings, and images make me want to get rid of all my material goods and run off to some distant corner of the earth to grow grass or something...okay, for one brief moment I thought this until I realized I can't even keep my house plants going. My question is...at the end of this long journey, what do you think will be the biggest change you'll make in terms of your daily life? Other than you guys living and teaching in a foreign country (just a prediction.) Miss you guys!
29th July 2006

What is the most important thing God has taught both of you these past 6 months? Were there times you truly felt His presence? Has your relationship with Him changed? I also love the idea of you writing a book. Dave said many times after reading your blog that he was surprised by your writing skill. Hmmm. Has this experience changed you and Griff in ways that amaze you? Will you come home the same? I love reading about your travels and can't wait to see them in a childrens book soon! love you both and miss you!
30th July 2006

How does the world see us?
Mandy and Griff, I can only add to others' comments that you are wonderful writers. You can tell a story in words that transports us to the place and time you experienced it. I'm sure that our experience is not the same as yours, but neither would it have been had we been there with you. You write excellent word pictures, don't let your feeling of being unable to adequately convey the moment keep you from trying. The glimpses into your daily travels are wonderful gems that keep us in touch with who you are as you change and as you reveal (maybe discover) who you really are. My question would be: How have the different places you have traveled to differed (or been the same) in how they see Americans and the United States as a country/government? Also, I would love to see more of Griff's commentary on politics in different regions of the world! Love you, Dad Peter
30th July 2006

Hey you two!!
I've been loving your blogs--keep it up! So are the four of us going to go develop some rural African village together or what?! We only have 40 years or so left on this earth...let's make the most of it! Love you both. ps: The Nissan is doing great--thanks again!
1st August 2006

Living vicariously
Hi Guys! It has been truly awesome traveling the world with you. I even have Fernando looking over my shoulder and looking at the pictures as I give him the Cliff Note version of your blog. (Thats a start!) I don't think you two realize the power of your words. You've really sparked some self-reflection and soul searching in some of us. Thats not easy to accomplish! We miss you and hope you are doing well. Keep inspiring us! Martha and Clan P.S. Mandy, what is your favorite music so far? Learned any new show tunes? I can soooo picture you singing Don't Cry For Me Argentina at the Casa Rosa!

Tot: 0.244s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 20; qc: 110; dbt: 0.1325s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb