The Remainder of My Time in Istanbul


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey » Marmara » Istanbul
May 22nd 2011
Published: May 22nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

plazaplazaplaza

The other day was a Turkish national holiday, so there were enormous Turkish flags and images of Atatürk all around.
Since my last entry I've made sure to visit all of Istanbul's remaining main sights. I visited the Topkapı Palace, the incredibly lavish home of the sultans of the Ottoman Empire from 1465 to 1856. Most interesting at that palace was the huge range of religious relics they had on display; including a piece of Mohammed's beard, a cast of Mohammed's footprint, Moses' staff and John the Baptist's arm! Of course I'm highly skeptical of the genuineness of these relics, but I found it really interesting nonetheless.
I also visited the Dolmabahçe Palace, which was built in 1856 when one of the sultans decided he would rather have a European-style residence. This palace was designed by a French architect, and as such greatly resembled the many châteaux that I've visited in France - although on a much grander scale. Two of the most extravagant features of this palace include a room with walls and ceilings made of gold and a chandalier that weighs 4.5 tonnes. Also of note is the fact that Atatürk moved into this palace after the revolution, and when he fell ill was unable to leave the building, thus he died there.
Yesterday I took a ferry to
BüyükadaBüyükadaBüyükada

one of the streets in the town on Büyükada
an island called Büyükada, part of a chain called the Princes' Islands. On these islands motorized vehicles are banned, so visitors can rent out bicycles or take rides in horse-drawn-carriages (though I did neither, preferring to explore on foot). There wasn't a great deal to do or see there, but it was very picturesque and had a relaxed vibe that provided a stark contrast to the noisy, bustling metropolis of Istanbul.
Early tomorrow morning I fly from Istanbul to Sarajevo, so today I've mostly just been getting myself ready and organized. My next entry should be from Bosnia-Herzegovina!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0398s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb