Classes.


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey » Marmara » Istanbul
March 6th 2008
Published: March 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

View from 475View from 475View from 475

Yeah, you think you have trouble paying attention in class. This is about 1/4 of the view from a room where I spend 5 hours of class per week.
So, finally, an update on my classes. To reiterate from previous posts, I am taking a total of four classes:

TKF 111.01 Elementary Turkish for Foreigners - So far a super basic, mostly unhelpful course, but one that I think will pan out into something helpful. I’m going to a Turkish Conversation Club weekly, which has taught me more in one hour than the two weeks of Turkish class has.

History 222 Classical Ottoman History - Probably the best class I’m taking. It covers ‘Classical Ottoman History.’ So we’ve done a basic overview of pre-Ottoman times (Mongols, etc) and are currently looking at the various historiographical ideas that embody contemporary historical thought on the Ottomans. It’s hard to explain succinctly, but it’s very interesting so far.

Hist 333 Hittite History and Archeology - It meets just once a week for three hours in a row, so it’s a grind, but it should be interesting. Basically the study of the Hittites didn’t really start until the early 1900s, and has had several major breaks due to the fact that the Germans were the ones leading most of the research, and that there was World War I and World War II. It’s a different kind of historical approach - we know very little about the Hitties, and most everything we do know comes from translating a huge cache of small clay tablets found at one of about three main archeology sites in SE Turkey.

History 336 Byzantine History Part II (850-1453) - A pretty cool class so far. Byzantine history is pretty massive, as it is the continuation of the Roman Empire. We’re looking at about 850 - 1453; which will include the Crusades and end with the conquest of Constantinople by the Turks. It should be really cool.

I’m bummed I didn’t think to try to spend a year here. I picked Turkey because it offered so many interesting things - a rich history, unique culture, and interesting economic/world position, with regards to the EU question. However, there is just too much to try and absorb academically; too many fascinating classes that I can’t fit in. So, I’m focusing on history, which I think will ultimately be the most interesting for me. Besides, it’s really cool to read about about something and then go hop on a bus and see it in person.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.037s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0207s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb