Turkish Delight


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey » Marmara » Istanbul
July 18th 2007
Published: July 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Alright, I am finally at a keyboard where everything is in the right spot, so it is much easier to update this. I am in Istanbul, I am leaving in a couple of minutes to fly to Italy (provided the air traffic control strikes in Italy don't cause my flight to be cancelled). Turkey is absolutely amazing! Me and Stephanie have spent the last 2 days in Istanbul, its really unlike anywhere I've ever been before. We went to the Hagia Sophia yesterday, which is a church turned mosque turned museum, it was really beautiful. We also walked up to an area called toksim square, that had tons of cool shops and restaurants. The Bosphorus is beautiful too, you get great views of the whole city and all the amazing architecture on either side. You can hear the prayers echoing through the city at 5 times during the day, it is very soothing.
Cesme over the weekend was awesome, I definitely want to go back. We spent most the time at some beach clubs hanging out. The beaches look like they belong in a Corona commercial, they are that pretty! People come around selling mussels with rice and corn on the cob. On Saturday night a DJ from the states was playing at Erim's cousins club, so we hung out with her all day on Saturday, and went to an amazing dinner that night at this restaurant overlooking the water. The food in Turkey is so good, everything is fresh and comes from here. After dinner we went and watched Chloe (the DJ) play at the club and then and his cousin's house, it was really surreal.
On Sunday we hung out at the beach some more, then steph and I took a quick boat trip to Greece so she could renew her visa. So I have a greek stamp in my passport (although all I saw was the customs office)
I definitely want to come back to Turkey, I didn't really know what to expect, but I was surely impressed. Now off to Florence for a few days!

Advertisement



18th July 2007

chanting
Hi Jen! Sounds so awesome...after living in Iran, I can especially relate to the "Adhan" - the Islamic call to prayer and the unique, mystical, and you're right - "soothing" sound of it and never got tired of hearing it even after 5 times a day. Just reading about it, brings the sights and sounds all back! You are having quite the experience...thank you for sharing! Love, -Sherie

Tot: 0.203s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0335s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb