'Istanbul was once Constaninople' or My First Day in Istanbul


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey » Marmara » Istanbul » Sultanahmet
April 11th 2013
Published: April 12th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Konya AirportKonya AirportKonya Airport

From my seat
We flew into Istanbul from Konya on the 10th. The flight was short but fairly pleasant. The Konya Airport is small. To board the plane you have to walk out to it. I found that I love to do this (especially on a beautiful day!). I actually boarded the plane from the tail end instead of the regular entrance near the cockpit. I was in Group A which fills the back rows. I have never seen an Airport have passengers board from two entrances. It's smart because it cuts down on crowding in the cabin. Anyways, I was absolutely giddy about. You see I have this secret. I love planes. I love flying. I find it exhilarating. I actually wish I knew more about the mechanics involved. I feel kind of bad about this secret, because when I was younger I made my dad stop taking flying lessons. I thought he was going to get hurt. I feel like a hypocrite now that I have gotten over my fear and find myself toying with the idea of learning how to fly at some point in my life. Sorry Dad!

After landing I didn't do much. However the next day we went to the Aya Sofya, the Hippodrome (what is left of it), and Korra Church. Unfortunately my Batteries died while I was in the Sofya so I lacks decent pictures, but luckily as I was leaving I found batteries in the souvenir shop. I almost cried in joy.


Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement

The Aya SofyaThe Aya Sofya
The Aya Sofya

Once called the Hagia Sofia, when it was a Christian Basilica. It was turned into Mosque during the Ottoman Empire and is now a museum.
Group Hug!Group Hug!
Group Hug!

Needless to say we were excited to see Will and photos of his newborn son Jet Pasha.
Ticket to the SofyaTicket to the Sofya
Ticket to the Sofya

Yep you have to pay 25 Lira to get in.


Aya Sofya





LUNCH!!LUNCH!!
LUNCH!!

I had the biggest piece of salmon for lunch. SO good!




Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0531s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb