The joy of not standing out.


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey » Marmara » Istanbul » Sirkeci
November 15th 2013
Published: November 15th 2013
Edit Blog Post

IMG_0093IMG_0093IMG_0093

Ahhh, I have missed budget accommodation. This place kindly gave me a unique shower seat. For my convenience.
Hello everyone.

Hope you are all well. Indeed, I have decided that the real world really isn’t up to much so have decided embark upon another “Long Term International Cultural Exchange Programme” Or, as some people have called it a “Massive Holiday”

This adventure will take me to………

Turkey for a spot of Goat Farming

Iran for a spot of getting to know the people

Sri Lanka for a spot of Christmas and friend meeting.

India for a spot of madness

Maybe Burma for a spot of not sure quite what yet.

This adventure will be distinctly different to the last one. Firstly I hope to stay in one place longer than a few days, constantly travelling can get a bit tiring. Secondly I am significantly skinter this time so will have to work as I go.

Anyhoo.

I am currently in Istanbul, and, I actually quite like the place, which surprises me as I usually hate cities. I like it because unlike any of my last destinations I don’t stand out, with the remaining splodge of tan and my new beard I could be any other Istanbulian rushing home from
IMG_0095IMG_0095IMG_0095

The Hotel kindly gave me a table lamp. I was determined to create a romantic ambiance so I plugged it in to the only working plug. Upside down. I moaned and got a nicer room. I wouldn't have done that on the last trip because I was still holding on to the English tradition of not complaining.
work, or going shopping.

I am enjoying being invisible to the hawkers and husslers, I have Touristic Immunity. I let my guard down once though, taking a sneaky look at my tourist map only hear the familiar call of “My friend, where are you from”. I ran away. I hate hassle.

I have been here a week doing various administrative duties, namely sorting my Iranian Visa* and the Train Ticket to Iran. After a considerable amount of faffing I have achieved both of these aims.

As I write I am waiting for my overnight bus to Fethyie where I will meet with the goat farmer I am spending the next couple of weeks with. Looking forward to it.

So, I am going now but as usual I have included some pictures below as they speak a thousand words.

I have also attempted to insert a Video. This site wont let me upload a Video I have to upload it to Youtube first. I cant be bothered to I have stolen it from someone else. At five times a day this will be the soundtrack to my next couple of months. Good thing I love it
IMG_0102IMG_0102IMG_0102

Also missed religious TV. Most countries seem to love a bit of religious TV.
so much.

[
]



[
]

Love

John

PS Thank to everyone who was so kind in various sending off ceremonies.

PPS Sorry if this post is a bit dry. I am dreading the next 13 hours on a bus. Let it begin.

* If you are planning a summer Holiday in Iran, I have created a guide to obtaining a visa, which can be found here:

http://www.lonelyplanet.com/thorntree/thread.jspa?newPost=true&threadID=2363590


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

IMG_0120IMG_0120
IMG_0120

This is the Grand Bazaar. Basically a very old shopping complex full of stuff. I didn't buy any stuff because I have lots of stuff. I hope to shed loads of stuff when I hit warmer climes. I hate stuff. Stuff slows you down and makes you stand out.
IMG_0115IMG_0115
IMG_0115

Call in the Army, the Russians are invading! No, really, they are. Like the Chinese the Russians are holidaying in a big way.
IMG_0148IMG_0148
IMG_0148

I didn't have anyone to take a picture of in front of the Blue Mosque, so I borrowed someone else.
IMG_0126IMG_0126
IMG_0126

At the time of typing this is the single most important scrap of paper I own. This is the promise from the Iranian embassy that I will get my Passport back. The bureaucratic black hole I would fall in to if I lost it would consume me forever.
IMG_0131IMG_0131
IMG_0131

Istanbul is a very very beautiful city.
IMG_0135IMG_0135
IMG_0135

This is the spice Bazaar. Basically a very old shopping complex selling spice. I didn't need spice so I didn't buy any. Smelled lovely though.
IMG_0138IMG_0138
IMG_0138

These Gents were washing their feet before going in to the Mosque for a pray.
IMG_0139IMG_0139
IMG_0139

Kebab time! They love Kebabs here, it is not just a stereotype. The streets are awash with Kebabs.
IMG_0149IMG_0149
IMG_0149

Five times a day the Mosques call to prayer. I think it is very beautiful. Anyway, this is what they are singing.
IMG_0144IMG_0144
IMG_0144

Another one of the Blue Mosque. Very beautiful.
IMG_0158IMG_0158
IMG_0158

The good thing about coming in the winter is the relative lack of crowds. You can still find a quiet spot.
IMG_0175IMG_0175
IMG_0175

Inside of the Blue Mosque. Jolly kind of them to let it be invaded by millions of camera toting tourists everyday.


Tot: 0.136s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 14; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0891s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb