Jason needs to learn/Der "Ja"son muss lernen


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey » Marmara » Canakkale
July 31st 2012
Published: July 31st 2012
Edit Blog Post

Scooter/RollerScooter/RollerScooter/Roller

Well... ıt used to be new. Es war neu. Nıcht jetzt!
(DEUTSCH UNTEN)
From Ios to Santorini for the pimpin' overnight ferry to Kos. I checked to a cheap Hotel then I looked for a Scooter to hire for the day. The first guy, I bargainned down 3€ and then he looked at my license and said "oohhh you Australian? No you need different license" as I said "no worries, here's my international license". He flipped through to the Greek translation and said "no. This makes no sense, this - not valid. Sorry. Police make problem for us. Sorry. You cannot. Sorry". After trying to argue he tried to look sad, I got angry and left. He did have a point though. My international drivers license is supposed to have stamps on it - from the journey to Vienna in the rain... Well things got a little ruined! You can see the faded stamps, but I guess I might have trouble too in the future. The Rental next door didn't care - they were friendly and so yeh... I had a (close to) brand new scooter. The ones you see on the Greek Islands are pretty beaten up. Mine was a shiny yellow. I started off touring Kos and it was the best(like Santorini). I was having too much fun. What do I do when I have too much fun? I want more, MORE MORE! So here is when my day turned. I was riding up a windy road and there were signs saying "SLOW" - I should have obeyed. I went around a corner then felt the back of the scooter slip away and I was falling towards the asphalt road. As I landed I watched the scooter smack hard against the road, then slide on the wrong side spinning 360 degrees. There was no traffic, and I quickly grabbed the scooter and waddled over to the side. I seen oil or petrol on the corner, so I'm not sure thats what I slid on or what was coming from the scooter. While swearing to myself "You idiot!", I pick up the broken mirror I found and checked the bike out. Oh was I gonna pay for this one. The whole side of the scooter was scratched to the point that I thought it looked more white than yellow. I noticed some cuts and blood on my feet, hands, knee and arm but nothing out of the usual when I fall off the skateboard. I was wearing thongs(flip flops) if noone understoood why my feet were cut up. It gave me a mission though - try and at least fix the mirror in 5hrs. I thought of superglue and duct tape, but then decided to leave it to last resort. I asked mechanics & other hire scooters, but they said that "there's so many different scooters on the island it's best just to tell the rental company". Again I imagined the guy at the rental company just pressing the "charge($$$)" button on a cash machine several times. I still looked at sites and went to the beach and received a phone call from Anna to tell me "You are sooo silly" then hear her laugh. It was about 30min until I had to return the scooter and I was coming back from a site. I seen a workshop with the brand of the scooter. I slammed the brakes on and hooked it into the workshop. It was a longshot. They said yeh and I instantly was screaming in my head "F@* YEAH!". They let me borrow tools and I quickly changed both mirrors over and headed for Kos(town). I was (again)
Cats ın Turkey/Katzen ın dıe TuerkeıCats ın Turkey/Katzen ın dıe TuerkeıCats ın Turkey/Katzen ın dıe Tuerkeı

I told you... thıs was just at a bın
stupid enough to keep looking at sites once I got to town, then thought "nah I dont want something else to stuff up". I did the smartest thing of the day and returned the scooter. I parked it strategically between 2 other scooters with the scratched side to the road. I returned the keys & helmet and they said "where is it?" then just popped their head over the counter to see a bright yellow scooter and asked "so how was it?". I replied "that was JUST the best! The day was AMAZING!!". They happily said goodbye while I walked out, then out of sight I started to limp again and pulled my pants higher than my knee again! There were fireworks that night, and I enjoyed 3 Cocktails while watching them. I knew it was a bad idea NOT to pack my bag that night because the following morning I was in a hurry, jamming things in my bag then running off for the ferry(which was 2hrs late anyway). I've been used to Germany for too long where public transport, or more or less EVERYTHING is on time(to the second). I've been a bit unsettled a couple of times,
Mausoleum at HalicarnassusMausoleum at HalicarnassusMausoleum at Halicarnassus

1/7 World Wonders. 1/7 Weltwunder
if I look at my watch and it's 3min past and there's no bus. No joke. Bodrum was nice but quite small I thought & I took a bus to Pammukale. This is as well WHY "If it sounds too good, then it's false/wrong/fake(bullshit!)". So like usual I ask the best bus companies - METRO, is an example. 25TL. Ok, next one the guy said "12TL. Small shuttle bus". Alright so I had an idea... Big bus 25, small bus 12. I thought to myself "3hr bus ride ain't TOO bad, I'll go on a small bus". I was hungry and had 40min until all the buses to Pammukkale left. Sooo... I ate a kebab and came back. I guy yells "Hello my friend, where you come from? You need bus?", and I replied "Yeh Pammukkale". He said "good! 13TL. We leave now.change bus Mugla". Anyway I jump on and left. 2hrs later in MUGLA, everybody gets off the bus. I ask where my next bus is and the driver points me to a big bus. Thinking I totally understood the situation, I jump on the bus and hand my ticket over. The guy stops me and says "you need ticket", then at once a flood of anger goes through me and yell out F*@! The driver from the 1st bus was helping me sorta.. I was about to get into an arguement because I felt scammed, the driver is calming me down "no problem no problem. Bus Pammukkale 1hr". I was asking "yeh but do I pay? YOUR worker sold me a ticket already to Pammukkale...apparently". I see they write "19:00. 19TL" but he was saying "19 o clock. 19 thousand". I got the idea. I needed to pay. I walk outside and see a bus reversing to leave with the sign "Pammukkale". I run up and jump in and ask how much and if it goes directly to Pammukkale. The driver while reversing says "evet(yes). 20 lira". I sat down & paid. So after another speed bump, I enjoyed Pammukkale and found that was one day was more than enough. It stunk though while I was relaxing in the pools. From Pammukkale I went to Kusadasi and stayed there to visit the site of Ephesus. Unfortunately I didn't like the West coast of Turkey as much as the middle or east. There were too many touts, and people trying to rip you off EVERYWHERE. And I keep thinking to myself after that "will you hate India?". It's just stressful always getting into arguements. The hotel where I BOOKED was one example, where he pulled figures out of his ass even though I had already a price. I also seen the house of Virgin Mary, the house where she was just before. I was going to walk up the hill but a car liked the look of my thumb and stopped. They were metalheads with close to no english. They even paid my entry fee and gave me a lift back down! Nice chaps! The morning after proved to be yet ANOTHER incident. While going to collect my clothes off the line I had to walk through the pool area. I had thongs(flip flops) on. I slipped and half fell in the pool. My shin smacked the edge of the pool. It hurt. The wounds from the scooter accident re-opened plus I had blood coming from my shin. After I cleaned it, I noticed it was pretty deep. The owner of the hotel told me "it's fine. Just little cut". I checked out and went to go to the hospital, but a taxi driver showed me a medical centre close by. 2 stitches, drugs & 170€ later I was better again. I stopped off in Bergama to see Acropolis and now in Canakkale, which is famous for Gallipoli and Troy. Don't worry I'm just chilling here for a couple of days. I have only Istanbul left with 11 days to go. I might go back east a bit. And yes Mumma, I'll be more careful and YES I know it's dangerous. I'll learn one day... Maybe:P Jase

DEUTSCH:
Von Ios nach Santorini und dann in der geile Uebernachtfähre nach Kos. Ich habe ein billiges Hotel gefunden und dann einen Roller zu mieten gesucht. Der erste Mann, ich habe ihn 3€ gehandelt und er hatte meinen Fuehrerschein angeschaut und er sagte "oh! Australier. Tut mir leid aber Sie brauchen einen anderer Fuehrerschein". Ich habe gesagt "Ja kein Problem. Hier ist meinen Auslandfuehrerschein". Er hatte die Griechischeteil gelesen und gesagt "nein. Dieses macht kein Sinn. Tut mir leid. Polizei macht Probleme". Er hatte traurig probiert zu schauen aber ich war schon veraergert und weggegangen. Doch er hat rechts. Mein Ausflug mit dem Rad von Passau nach Wien - meinen Auslandfuehrerschein ist kaputt wegen regen. Die naechste Rollermieter hat gar nichts gesagt drueber meinen Fuehrerschein. Also, ich hatte fast einen neuen Roller fuer einen Tag gemietet. Am meistens den Rollern sind sehr alt und gekratzt. Nein, meinen Roller war fast neu. Beim Anfang es war wie Santorini - die beste! Ich hatte zu viel spass. Was habe ich fuer scheiss gemacht? Ich bin auf viele Kurven auf einem Berg gefahren. Das Schild stehte immer "LANGSAM". Ich sollte langsam fahren. Ich bin um ein Kurva gefahren und hinten ist gerutscht. Ich bin auf der Strasse gefallen. Ich habe den Roller gesehen ueber dem Spur gerutscht und 360 grad gespunnen. Kein verkaehr und ich habe den Roller aufgehoben und neben der Strasse gestellt. Ich habe Oel oder Benzin auf der Strasse gesehen. Ich weiss nicht ob es vom Roller war oder von was ich gerutscht habe. Was war kaputt? Gebrochen Spiegel und an eine Seite... Voll gekratzt! Oh mei... Meine Fuess, Haende, Knie, und Armen war verletzt aber nur wie Skateboard fahren. Meine Fuess ist verlezt wegen Flip-flops. 5 Stunde noch bevor ich zurueck geben muss! Scheisse. Ich habe gedacht Sekondeklebe und Klebebond aber das war die letzte Moeglichkeit. Ich habe ueberall gefragt aber es hilft nichts! Es gibt zu viele Marken, verschiede Spiegeln. Ich habe noch Attraktionen gesehen und am Strand gelogen. Anna hat auch angerufen und gesagt "Du bist ssaauu bloed" und gelacht. Es war ungefaehr 30 Minuten bis ich zurueck geben muss und ich bin von einem Attraktion zurueckgefahren. Ich habe ein Mechanik mit dem gleiche Marke(auf dem Roller) gesehen und gerade beim ihn geparkt. Er hatte die Spiegel erteil. Ich habe die gekauft und gerade repairiert. Was habe ich noch fuer scheiss gemacht? Kos(die Stadt) angeschaut. Doch war ich schlau und endlich den Roller zurueckgegeben. Ich habe der Roller zwischen 2 Rollern geparkt. Die gekratzt Seite ist von die Strasse Seite gesehen und NICHT vom Buero. Der Vermieter hat gefragt "wo ist er?" und nur vom Tisch geschaut und nochmal gefragt "und wie war's?". Ich habe gesagt "Das war ERST die Beste! Fruchtbar!!". Er hat Tschuss gesagt und um der Ecke ich bin wieder wie behindert(wegen schmerzen) weggegangen! Ich habe schon gewusst dass frueher Morgen mein Ruecksack packen ist eine schlechte Idee. Frueher Morgen fuer die Fähre laufen und es war 2 Stunden verspaetung! Ich bin immer wie ich in Deutschland bin. ALLES ist puenktlich! Hier in die Tuerkei wenn einen Bues 3 Minuten verspaetung ist, ich bin in einer Panik. Ohne Scheiss. Bodrum war schoen aber klein und danach die Stadt angeschaut, ich bin mit dem Bues nach Pammukale gefahren. "Wenn es zu gut klingt, denn es ist falsch/kaputt/schlecht". Ich fragte wie normal: fahren Sie nach...,was kostet... METRO(die Beste Firma) sagte 25TL. Ok, die naeschte hat gesagt "12TL. Aber klein Bues". Naja ok... Grosser Bues 25, Kleiner Bues 12. Ich habe gedacht "3 Stunden ist nicht schlecht - kleinen Bues". Ich hatte noch 40 Minuten bis den Bues kommt und Hunger! Ich habe ein Kebap gegessen und zurueckgegangen. Ein Mann schreite "Hallo mein freund, woher kommen Sie? Brauchen Sie ein Bues?", und ich sagte "Ja Pammukkale". Er sagte "Super! 13TL. Wir fahren jetzt. Mugla Bues wechseln". 2 Stunden spaeter in MUGLA, jeder sind ausgestiegen. Ich fragte wo mein naeschte Bues ist und der Buesfahrer zeigt mir mein Bues. Ich steige ein und einen Mann hat gesagt "falsche Karte. Sie brauchen eine nach Pammukkale". Meine Karte war nur nach Mugla und ich brauchte eine Karte von Mugla nach Pamukkale. Ich habe einen Bues mit einem Schild "Pammukkale" gesehen und er ist zurueckgefahren. Ich bin zum Bues gelaufen und eingestiegen. Ich fragte "Pamukkale. DIREKT?" Er hat gesagt "evet(ja). 20 lira". Ich setz mich und bezahlt. Das war die kurze Geschichte! Die lange geschichte war immer schimpfen wie "Du Depp! Du hast mir die falsche Karte verkauft!". Pammukkale hat mir sehr gut gefallen aber einen Tag war SCHON GENUG! Aber es ist im Naturschimmbad "gstonga"/stinkt(ich habe immer nur das Bayerisches Wort gehoert hihi). Ich bin von Pammukkale nach Kusadasi gefahren und "Ephesus" gesehen. Leider die Westkueste an der Tuerkei hat mir nicht gefallen. Straende schon schoen aber es gibt zu viele leute wie "Hallo mein freund! Wie gehts? Woher kommen Sie?" und auch Betrug. Danach das ich ueberliege immer "werde ich Indien hassen?". Es ist sehr stressig immer schimpfen. Ich habe auch "Das Haus von (Jungfrau?) Mary" gesehen. Das war ein 6km auf einen Berg wandern, aber ich habe getraempt. Die leute waren "Metalheads" und die haben mein Eintritt bezahlt! Und runter der Berg gefahren! Freundliche leute! Und... Was ist gestern SCHON WIEDER PASSIERT?!? NOCH ein Unfall! Ich habe meine Trocknen Kleider genommen aber ich musste durch Schwimmbadplatz gehen. Ich habe Flip flops angetragt. Ich bin runtergefallen und mein Bein hat der Ecke der Schwimmbad geschlagt. Es tut weh! Alles von der Rollerunfall ist wieder verletzt! Und noch eine an meinem Bein. Ich habe mein Bein geputzt und es war tief. Der Hotelleiter hat gesagt "ahh Passt scho. Es ist nicht tief. Passt schon". Ich habe fuer einem Krankenhaus geschaut und ein Taxifahrer hat mir einen Doktor in der Naehe gezeigt. 2 stitches, Drognen & 170€ spaeter ich bin wieder gesund. Ich bin nach Bergama gefahren und Akropolis gesehen. Das war geil. Jetzt bin ich in Canakkale, und es ist bekannt Platz zu Gallipoli(Weltkrieg 1 - Australier/ANZAC) und Troy sehen. Keine Panik ich beruehig mich in die Stadt. Ich habe erst Istanbul noch und 11 Tage bis ich abfliege. Ich werde einen Tag lernen... Vielleicht :P mfg Jase


Additional photos below
Photos: 29, Displayed: 29


Advertisement



Tot: 0.171s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 14; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0713s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.2mb