illahra valley


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey » Central Anatolia » Cappadocia » Göreme
May 25th 2009
Published: May 25th 2009
Edit Blog Post

What a little day. Nessie and I took a tour with a tour agency called Yama tours so that we could explore the Illahra Valley. We customed designed part of the tour so that we could get to hike the whole valley insted of the 3 km that you do with the group. Our guide packed our lunch so that we could take it with us. I think we ended up hiking a total of about 12 km. We were both exhausted by the end of the day and I am not ridiculously sunburnt. I was wearing 30 but managed to completely miss my traps which are now as red as a cooked lobster. Nessie with her glowing olive Italian skin is obviously fine... I will be wearing a parka for the next couple of days so that I can hide from the sun. On the plus side, I think this trek was by far the best part of our trip to date. The scenary was absolutely breath taking. Everyone in our group thought that Nessie and I were such hardcore little Canadians for hiking the whole thing.

Our trek ended at a monastery in Selime which is the Star Wars set which I think I mentioned yesterday. I took a picture of the sand people's houses for all you star wars fans.

Tomorrow Nessie and I are leaving our cave for Uchisar, another area in Capadocia where we are going to meet up with Nessie's family friend for dinner and to do some touring. Should be good.


Lots of love,

Poke/Nicole

Advertisement



Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0294s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb