Across Turkey.


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey » Black Sea » Trabzon
March 27th 2007
Published: March 27th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Tuesday March 15.
As I had planned I took the bus to Gerade to miss out the heavy traffic. It was a good decision as the traffic is scary along this stretch. The memory of Dave Cook underlines that choice. I set off cycling at 1 pm and made good progress as I climbed higher into the mountains. It got very cold and started to snow. The snow was driven by a strong wind and visibility was reduced. Lorries were seeing me too late but the main problem was the cold and the possibility of hyperthermia. I was seriously cold. I stopped at a petrol station which had a wonderful hot stove. After one and a half hours I felt better but the snow was still falling so I flagged down a bus and they took me 20 kms to a hotel in Tosya.

Friday March 16.
I had a good start to the day with a long downhill for 16 kms and then gentle hills to Osmancik. There is a long uphill from there into the mountains. Just past Gumushacikoy I was it by snow again. The temperature drops as cold air drops out of the mountains and
Store oposite the hotelStore oposite the hotelStore oposite the hotel

It sells electrical equipment
the wind chill factor on the bike exacerbates the problem. The snow hits my eyes and reduces visibility so that I have to ride on the potholed hard shoulder.
It is anything up to 100 kms between towns large enough to have a hotel so you have no choice but to press on. I arrived in Merzifon. I went to a restaurant and met a guy who had worked in Germany for 27 years. I discussed the possibility of going down to the coast to Samsun and he agreed. Beyond Bayburt there are mountains of 3 - 4000 metres with the possibility of heavy snowI am heading for Samsun tomorrow.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.203s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 16; qc: 74; dbt: 0.1044s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb