For my mom


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey » Aegean » Selçuk
May 13th 2007
Published: May 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

This entry is for my mom. I know it is a little glum but my mothers passing has become a big part of this journey of mine. I wanted to honour her and also all of the people who have been so amazingly supportive during this time.

My mom was sick with Multiple Sclerosis for many years and despite her struggle always managed to keep a smile on her face and a smile on the faces of those around her. For this I admire her more than words can say, her strength and her spirit is something we can all learn from. Life is not always easy and can sometimes be very cruel but we are all capable of choosing how we deal with what is thrown at us and in her case she dealt with it the only way she knew how......by putting a smile on her face and carrying on with life. I can only hope that I would have had the strength to do the same in her situation.

For those of you who don’t know, my mother lost her battle with MS on March 2nd while I was still in South Africa. There are a number of people who were there with me at the time who were absolutely amazing and I don’t know what I would have done without their love and support. Fran and Thommo thank you so much for being there within minutes of my call and thanks to Lukxmi, Chris and Fergus for rallying around me in Capetown. I was never alone during this time...not even in the airport where I had Kelly to talk to and where I randomly ran into Dave from Cintsa, I am very grateful to have friends like you guys.

When I arrived home I was met at the airport by family and really haven’t been left alone since. A huge thanks goes out to my family and friends for again just being there and a very special thanks goes out to my Father, My Aunt Heather and to Drew. My Aunt Heather looked after my mom’s affairs for years and for this I am, and I know mom was forever grateful. She was always an unwavering support for mom and also for myself! Dad and I arranged the memorial service for mom and I am so glad to have had him there because he thought of things I would never have thought of and this also allowed me to spend more time working on the memorial video for mom. Which brings me to my last thank you... this one goes out to Drew and I don’t even know where to begin. Despite all that we have been through he was there for me 300%. I honestly don’t know what I would have done without him. He did everything from accompanying me to the viewing to spending hours working on mom’s memorial, with and without me. He is the reason there is a shortened version of the video attached to this entry and he is the reason there was even one to begin with. Thank you Drew, I know my mom would have been proud to have you help with this...as am I.





Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



13th May 2007

Thinking of you
Shona, congradulations on such a wonderful tribute to your mother. We know how hard it has been for you to grow up in a divided world, and we are very proud of you and your accomplishments, and your very adult approach to life. Enjoy you time with your Dad, and we look forward to seeing you soon. Love, Jack and Heather.
13th May 2007

Shona, The video was absolutely beautiful and the song was perfect. I am so sorry for your loss. Going by what I now know about your mother I can see so much of her in you. I don't think there was one day I saw you without a smile on your face. Take care on your trip and thank you for sharing your mom with everyone through this entry. Much Love, Katia
13th May 2007

Outstanding, your Mom is honered. It makes me think of my own Mom, who was 6 years on the 9th. Thanks for the walk. Love You.
14th May 2007

Thank you...
Shona, Thank you so much for giving me the honour of meeting your Mom. She was such an amazing and beautiful person; I can definitely see her spirit and soul within you. Every time we went to see her I couldn’t believe despite her circumstances she always had a smile on her face and was so happy to see her daughter. I will never forget her and her very contagious laughter that she always seemed to have around us… she was truly one of a kind and I will miss her deeply, may she finally rest in peace.
15th May 2007

Your Mom
Shona you are such a wonderful person and your Mom was so proud of you, everytime I watch that slide show I am crying while laughing at all the different stages of my big sisters life. I am constantly amazed at how beautiful she was and how much she loved us all. We were truly blessed to have had her in our lives! Thanks for not putting the hidious picture of me in the yellow dress in this slide show! Hugs to you and Doug!
19th May 2007

That's really sweet sHONA. Your mother sounds like she was an amazing woman. You look so much like her.... MIss you.
10th July 2007

Shona just to say that you really look like your mother you have the same smile the same glance now i more understand your idea of back memorial, do it, it[ a very good idea...

Tot: 0.195s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 15; qc: 72; dbt: 0.1369s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb