Easy Cruising


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey » Aegean » Bodrum
June 30th 2008
Published: July 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

So, we are back from our aegean cruise through the Greek islands!
To highlight, we went to Mykonos, Kos, Syros, Paros, Kalymnos, and Bodrum in Turkey.
It was a budget cruise put on by the budget airline company; easyjet. And it was worth every penny. Booking ahead, for two people, getting your own room with a bathroom and everything, it was about 112 pounds, or 224 dollars. That's about 112 dollars per person. Which if you think about it, is less than the price of accomodation for 6 nights most of the time. So it was a bargain. Food is not included, but it's actually not that expensive aboard, and the good thing about the cruise, is that it sails in the early morning, and you get to spend all day, and most of the night, on most of the islands, so you don't really have to eat on the boat anyway!

My favourites were probably Bodrum and Mykonos. Both are amazing. Bodrum is a very touristy part of Turkey, but the Turkish that are there, are really friendly, and we had no problems, and met absolutely no mean people at all there. It was fantastic. The blue water, the baren hills. It was steaming hot, at about 41-43 degrees in the sun, but it was definitely a beautiful little town/city. Plus, if you like shopping... which I do, Than you will definitely appreciate it. They have all the shopping you want and then some. And now, they accept Euros as well. It was generally cheap, alot cheaper than some of the Greek islands, and seems like a place that would be good to come for a holiday and to relax. Plus the nightlife was absolutely insane! Having the third biggest club in the world means taht there is no shortage of competition, and bars are boasting with happy travelers. I will definitely go there again.

Mykonos is an interesting island. Set up for tourists I think. It's not the most interesting town, although, you can spend alot of time walking down the winding streets, if you're on a budget, you won't be able to afford anything in the shops. If you like partying, and good looking greek guys, well... You'll enjoy it. It's a fun place, and it's generally picturesque, with lots of young people, and alot of beaches to spend your days at.

One of the best encounters with locals that Nicole and I had in europe has to have been in Kalymnos, our first day out. In search of food we ended up in a small Gyros restaurant in the backstreets of the town. We had what I think might have been the best tasting Gyros I have ever had. It was amazing. And really, they aren't the tastiest things I've eaten, just the cheapest, so when I say that it's good, I mean.. delicious. Anyway, the owner of this little gyros restaurant was the friendliest guy I've ever met. Smiling to the nines, he greeted us and joked with us, and made specific note of my distaste for any sort of sauce on my food, and any salad. He forced me to atleast try the sauce because I couldn't say I didn't like it if I didn't try it.. sure enough I didn't like it. When we were leaving, he proudly shook all of our hands and asked us all where we were from. The way he interacted with us is hard to explain, but obviously, it was enough to make me remember him, and his gyros! :P

The most boring island that Nicole and I went to has got to be Paros. Small, and definitely beautiful, it doesn't boast the amazing scenery like most of the islands... until, you find the perfect spot. And Nicole and I did just that. Walking down the little streets, we came across a friendly greek lady named Jane.. okay well she might have originally been British or australian.. but, she had lived in Greek for many years, and owned a little inn. She told us where to go, and it brought us to a little look out above the city streets, that looked over the entire beach line, the little streets, and the port.. And we managed to catch the sunset from it as well.. So it definitely had the most beautiful view we've seen in the Islands so far.

Well I think those were the highlights.. Tommorrow we I am going to Ios, and then Santorini, before heading back to London, and awaiting the flight back home! It seems like my trip has come to it's end so quickly.. but I suppose it's time to go home and get back to reality!

Advertisement



2nd July 2008

Advice for you: Santorini
Husband and I went to Santorini last October for 4 days. Avoid the trip to the "hotsprings, mud bath and walk to the top of the volcano" I am saving you time, money and disapointment. The so-called "hot springs" are luke warm, after you jump into ice cold ocean and swim over to the sulfer-smelling "hot springs" which are 1 degree warmer than the freezing ocean water; then the "black volcanic mud bath" is a tourist joke--it's really the goat shit from the goats that live on that little rock at the "hotsprings". The walk to the volcano top is tiring, and it smells like sulfur, and it bubbles a little. Yes, it is still active after the last eruption over 50 yrs ago, but, please save your money. Also, there is a wonderful restaurant there called "Mammas Steakhouse" although you can't get American steak there, the food is superb, and all homemade every day by a woman who looks like a typical grandmother. Best food on the island. And almost right next door on the same side of the street is a breakfast place that serves omlets. I cant remember the name, but you can ask anyone that lives on Santorini for "Mamma's Steakhouse" and they can direct you. The breakfast spot is up the incline. If you don't have a place to sleep yet, all the pensiones owners gather there at the dock when the ferries arrive and they will fight over you. We stayed with a family for $30 per night. Don't make the mistake I made: We decided to go to the Sphinx restaurant one night, on the cliff, and the food was wonderful, but---I never asked how much the fish was going to cost (the special of the day) Hell, I am on an island, how expensive could fish cost?? Oh honey... The waiter brought us both liquor shots before showing us the bill total. Always ask the cost of everything. That fish came whole, and the waiter took off the head and tail, and fileted it for me, and it came with 3 kinds of vegetables and rice, and it was delicious! More food than i could ever eat, and all delicious. $80 for the meal. My husband just about shot me right there. We paid for the meals with all our cash, and put the rest on the credit card. I appologized all the way back to the pension. Luckily, he thought it was funny.

Tot: 0.169s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 15; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0687s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb