Bumming around in Bodrum


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey » Aegean » Bodrum
October 29th 2007
Published: October 29th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I got in at 4.30pm and went straight to Bodrum Backpackers, where I met Ria (kiwi chick) and Pascal (from manly). We went out for dinner along the beach. A massive steak from 1st stop, $20 for a glass of wine, entrée and monster sizzling steak. An early night for me coz I’m planning a day of photography tomorrow.

Tarik gave me some tips on where to go for photos, he’s a budding photographer too and works at the hostel. It’s a gorgeous day, the sun is out and reflecting on the turquoise water. The boats are all in the harbour with their flags flying and everyone is looking relaxed. I headed straight to the Castle of St Peter.

Built in 1402, it’s so impressive and even has a museum of underwater archaeology within, housing finds from 14th century BC Uluburun - the oldest excavated shipwreck in the world. I spend hours wondering around here just enjoying every moment and the views from the top were amazing.

After the castle it was time to explore the harbour and beach. Its soo very relaxing, people on sun beds, or enjoying beers in the quaint bars. I stopped for a quick chat with some of the locals then ran into Tarik. He suggested a nice little restaurant that I could get a salad from and if I mentioned I was staying at the hostel I’d get 10% discount. Great! The salad was massive, very tasty and exactly what I was after.

When you don’t have plans it’s just so easy to sit and chill and watch the world go by - so I did. Eventually I started heading back to the hostel, but took the long way home. Through the little rabbit warrens filled with shops and restaurants and covered with vines so you don’t get sun burnt while walking around.

When I got back I and was lucky enough to get a session on Photoshop - what a perfect day…and then we went out! A big pub crawl through town, live music, dj’s and lots of people to meet, then café Del Mar for a chill out on the beach….Yippee!

I can see why people get stuck here. It's such a lovely chilled out place and everyone I met was so friendly. I even met travellers that stayed in Bodrum then moved on but came straight back coz it was better here than there.

For me is was a quick couple of days to take photos, meet travellers and locals, watch the world cup rugby final and do some more chilling out. I'll be back for sure....when I have more time. xx



Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0453s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb