Relaxing in Romania


Advertisement
Romania's flag
Europe » Romania » Transilvania » Brasov » Brasov
November 2nd 2007
Published: November 12th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I wish I had more time in Romania :o(

For me, this was a quick trip - to catch up with a friend before I head back to Sydney and I will return! 3 nights in this wonderful country is soo not enough.

I was asked 'what do you want to see, while in Romania?' and my response was 'the autumn colours please'. Wow, this is the first time I have seen a country in autumn (Sydney just doesn't cut it when it comes to the changing colours of trees).

We headed straight up to Brasov, the villa was up the mountain amongst the trees and the owners were fantastic - helping me with english tourist books and taxis etc.

My first day was lovely. I started with a huge breakfast, did a little research then headed into town. The rain actually added to the mystique of Brasov. It's a lovely area - old and new buildings and churches, lovely pedestrian walkways and heaps of huge trees in different shades of autumn. The shopping was great and the coffee was hot so after I got some new wet weather gear and a coffee I was off.

I walked around Central Sqare then into the Black Church. As I'd just come from Turkey, I was interested in seeing their carpets, dating from the 17th & 18th century. Then of course there is the 4000 pipe organ, considered one of the biggest in Europe and was built between 1836 & 1839 - oh la la. By now the cold was getting to me so back to the villa for a lovely bottle of Romanian Red.

The next day I was off to see Dracula....well, Bran Castle (Dracula was a no show). Ok, so maybe it's not the best castle in the world but it's one made of legend and I was sooo happy to be there. A medieval fortress situated on the border of Wallachia and Transylvania, this place has an impressive history, you'll just have to go there yourself to get it - and it's worth it. To be able to walk the halls, peak into bedrooms and roam around the gardens was a thrill for me; I just couldn't get enough of it.

I had a wonderful adventure in Romania - I ate sooo much grilled meat and fish, washed it all down with lovely rich Romanian reds. The colours of the countryside blew my mind, I wandered into castles and churches and the people were lovely - everywhere I went.

I have to go back and spend more time there. Imagine this wonderful country under snow, or in spring or in the heat of summer by the sea. Yes - I'll be back. xx



Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.035s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0427s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb