Syria and first pics


Advertisement
Syria's flag
Middle East » Syria » East » Palmyra
November 30th 2009
Published: November 30th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Syria continued



Right, so I left the last entry having just met a fellow biker and his girlfriend looking over my orange crush downstairs. Turns out they're backpacking it this time... but it's pretty obvious he has serious bike withdrawl 😉 and I can't blame him considering his pedigree! Veteran of an 8 year round the world solo trip and seemingly countless other biking jaunts here and there. Wow. Great people both of them and we spent the Saturday checking out the town and eating. We were both thinking of leaving the next day, and both going in the same direction so agreed to meet up again here in Palmyra.

And what a place Palmyra is! I've seen a few ruined old cities in my time and to date Pompeii has been the most impressive in terms of size and the general feeling of what the city must have been like, filled with people and buzzing. Palmyra is just as impressive, if not more so, located as it is in the middle of nowhere with the citadel and tomb towers watching over. I arrived yesterday before my new Brazilian friends and went exploring. I don't have much time left in this internet cafe so I'll let the pics do the talking. Hopefully I captured some of the feeling of the place.

After a quick meal and my first beer since... well, I guess it hasn't been that long I suppose... I stayed chatting for a while and then left the 2 of them to go faff a bit back at my hotel and decide whether or not to stay another day. In the end I did stay - as much because I couldn't get out of bed this morning as anything else. A lazy slow start to the day, a luke warm shower (grrrr) and eventually I got off my behind and went for a ride. And a very nice one too. True, the road itself was a bit dull in places, but I managed to find some more interesting secondary roads, along with a little bit of off-road fun and, only having to ask directions twice (both times being offered first to come for lunch and the second time to stay the night in the guys home...), I found my way to an ancient desert palace, smack in the middle of nowhere with ornate tumbled columns and high imposing walls.

I didn't stay too long as light was fading but all in all it was worth the excursion. That's about it for this blog. Need to spend the rest of the time uploading some pics. I'm just going to throw them all together below (or however this blog site does them) from day 1 to date. Will add captions if I have time!

Tomorrow Damascus!




Additional photos below
Photos: 42, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



30th November 2009

wow man some great pics there well done god im getting jealous her the roads still good i bet they get rough soon enough...be safe man and lookin 4word 2 ur next update
1st December 2009

OINK
Dude just read your blog....snif, snif. I will be a follower, so keep us updated! and yes, I'm still a fucking jealous spaniard. Love you mate!
6th December 2009

OINK! ;)
6th December 2009

cool man you're enjoying. got 2 entries so far and will have another up soon. :)

Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0519s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb