Qatar in June


Advertisement
Qatar's flag
Middle East » Qatar » Doha
June 26th 2013
Published: June 26th 2013
Edit Blog Post

My Turkish RugMy Turkish RugMy Turkish Rug

Perfect fit for my hallway
Qatar in June = HOT.



Since returning from my excellent break in Turkey, I went full work mode and tried to finish up some major projects that had been left dangling. The best was finishing the project that I was initially brought to Qatar for - 8 months, multiple delays, 35 weekly meetings, 4 presentations, 15 professional staff and countless support staff, and 1770 pages of reports later: We're done! Yay!

Now I'm trying to catch up on the smaller projects that are yelling at me literally every day, thinking that they are the most important project in the world. I don't want to leave them hanging, but i have to prioritize my work as well. One of my key strengths is multi-tasking; I detest wasted time! Unfortunately, I am pretty much working solo at the moment, so it is difficult. I am looking forward to training my geologists so they can start helping more - we have some new recruits and they are all great additions, so I think we have a good team here. If only I had more time to focus on them....

I have also been going to Dubai every other week to start the process of moving out of my place. 😞 It is going to be a pain, but it needs to be done. I'm really going to miss it.

Sorry folks - just not a lot happens here. Except yesterday was my birthday (ugh!) and it was declared a National Holiday! Haha - no really, the Emir stepped down, transferring power to his heir/son and they declared it a national holiday. Which worked out well - my birthday, I was slightly hungover, and it was my first opportunity in 10 days to rest and NOT work, so I took advantage! It is basically unheard of in this region where usually the rulers hang on and beat their heirs away with their canes, but our Emir was in fairly good health and was only 61, while his son is just 33, making him by far the youngest ruler in region. The repercussions? We don't know yet. Most in the know seem to think he will continue on with his father's policies, though shaking up the cabinet a little bit. But these areas have absolute monarchies, where the rulers have individual visions and the power to fulfill them; if he wanted to, he could make drastic changes in the country. I guess only time will tell...


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Ibn Battuta GateIbn Battuta Gate
Ibn Battuta Gate

Came here one night for drinks and appetizers
Ibn Battuta GateIbn Battuta Gate
Ibn Battuta Gate

We wondered who would stay here since it is so far from the main part of Dubai
Ibn Battuta GateIbn Battuta Gate
Ibn Battuta Gate

But the inside is just gorgeous
Roasted VegetablesRoasted Vegetables
Roasted Vegetables

One of the best parts of shopping here - Produce! Here are carrots, zucchini, squash, onions, garlic, and brussel sprouts. Delicious
FinishedFinished
Finished

Matt and I turning our huge report in that took us 8 full months, but was ultimately very successful!


26th June 2013

Thanks for the post
Hello Buttercup Thanks so much for the pictures and your post. Congrats on getting your report done. I know you spent a ton of time on that. I have to ask, what is a sandstorm like? I would imagine it makes driving pretty tough, and also doing anything outdoors, for that matter. You are missed, Pookie. I hope everything is going well for you. Cheers, Romsa
27th June 2013

Sandstorm
The difficulty with sandstorms, and this one in particular, is that it is windy and sand or fine particles are blowing around, so it gets in your eyes and mouth, all over your car, etc. My bathroom was dirty every day because the sand/dirt would come in through the air vent above my shower. Just mostly a pain, but quite interesting!

Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0912s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb