Smile, You're in Lebanon


Advertisement
Lebanon's flag
Middle East » Lebanon » Beirut
July 16th 2009
Published: December 26th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hi all,
I arrived on Tuesday at 4am into Lebanon with only a mild sweat on, until of course I walked outside and its baking.
The driving in Lebanon is quite insane. There are no lanes, no lights, no seatbelts, no right of way, no horn not worth blowing and most important of all; no rules. So far nothing has been done without a great deal of noise! (Rich, I'm not sure it's your cup of tea)
There is an expression is Lebanon - "Smile, you're in Lebanon", it sort of means "like it or lump it" or maybe "shit happens".
Tariq has been a great host taking me round with his family, who assure me that I will get ill soon! It's supposedly common due to the change in diet, yay.
Word of advice to any traveller, don't forget your debit card at home! Especially if you have booked fasttrack train tickets.

Sorry, i realise this a very boring post, I will give you a tale next time or something a little more to do with things to do.
Tim


Additional photos below
Photos: 2, Displayed: 2


Advertisement



Tot: 0.317s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 20; qc: 98; dbt: 0.101s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb