Day 1- Beirut


Advertisement
Lebanon's flag
Middle East » Lebanon » Beirut
September 15th 2008
Published: September 15th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Holiday InnHoliday InnHoliday Inn

What's left of it
Hi everybody, Just got time now to update my blog, the great thing about solo travelling is the people you meet:-)

Spoke to a lovely Chinese girl on the flight to Frankfurt and a guy from Beirut on the plane from Frankfurt, even copied some of my music onto his laptop but I'm not sure he'll thank me for that.

After the interminable 5 hour wait at Frankfurt airport, I was finally called for boarding one thing that struck me straight away was that there was only 2 caucasians on the flight to Beirut. In addition to myself there was a polish UN soldier, not sure why he decided to sit next to me though maybe safety in numbers.

The Flight was delayed by 30 mins so after arguing with a taxi driver finally got to the Hotel As Nisri at 03:30 in the morning. Unsurprisingly even though I had already rang ahead and reserved a room it had now been taken so i was given a dorm room with no curtains. I got very little sleep probably an hour but by the time I woke as was presented with the most marvellous vision a man could see when he wakes up - the joys of mixed dorms.

After breakfast in a bar I had a wander round Beirut walked from one end to the other, its still rebuilding itself and in a couple of years it will be back to its former glory unless the Israelis bomb it again that is.

Saturday night in Beirut and these guys know how to party the hotel was in Gemmayse which together with Monot street are the places to go out - there was the obligatory Irish bar of course. The start of my evening was calm enough but as soon as I walked into a restaurant I was set about by a horde of French students - the evening deteriorated rapidly from there. After one of the most anarchic and memorable meals of my life - they really took me under my wing and there was a German and Dutch traveller there as well - probably 8 of us all together. After many beers and bottles of wine we went to one of the guys appartment to hit the Martini Bianco and then when that was finished hit the bars again. I left them to try and find the beach party they were looking for and finally got in my bed at around 2 in the morning.






Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



19th January 2009

You've missed a lot of fun!
Hey! It doesn't seem that you've seen much of beirut!!! there too many beautiful places to visit, from Ashrafieh, to Gemayzeh, to Jounieh, all the to Harrissa, and the beaches!!! to name few!!! what about Beirut the city??? and building out in the mediterranean? I couldn't believe all that building taking place! it rivals, Monaco and Beverly Hills!! it seems that you were in a bad hotel as well!! should have a better itinerary next time!!! too many historical and stunning places that you didn't see it seems!!!

Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0306s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb