Our man in Amman


Advertisement
Jordan's flag
Middle East » Jordan » North » Amman
December 22nd 2013
Published: December 24th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Amman is old and ancient, new and modern, alcohol free(ish) and totally intoxicating. But I am rushing ahead of myself,, so while Steven Seagull is busy killing whites in black leather on some wall paper movie, we'll cast our minds back to Saturday. A lovely morning with Merri and Adrian, brunch and a walk in the park before setting off in good time to the airport. Too early as it happens, I forgot about not being able to check in until three hours before the flight so had to hang around waiting for the gates to open for a while and then the rub. I'd booked the flight with Royal Jordanian which is a one world affiliate but they partner with Thai which is a star alliance affiliate so qantas wouldn't let me into the lounge and neither would Air NewZealand who run the star alliance lounge because I had booked through a one world carrier.

SomI settled for a Fat Yak on tap and read my book while waiting for the plane. Economy to Bangkok was always a bit of a recipe for potential misadventure so no surprise when my seat buddy showed up pissed as a ferret with a container of fried rice and A plastic fork. Naturally he was prepared to share, fortunately mostly with his shirt and shorts, but fell asleep, by which I mean passed out, three or four times before completing the task. To complicate things every time he woke up he ordered another beer, and every time he fell asleep he would flop his head onto my shoulder incurring my appraisal of his suitability to be considered a viable life form.

Lucky for me but not so much for her he was seated between me and a young Norwegian gal whom he kept breathing on, sparing me at least. Predictably he lit up a cig as soon as he was outside the plane, with any luck he has incurable cancer to go with the untreatable stoopid.

After that a couple of hours in the Thai royal something lounge in Bangers followed by a business class seat next to a woman who was happy to not engage beyond the formal niceities.

Lying down made sleep a realistic proposition.

Five hours of sleep, preceded with a nice champers or three and followed by an edible breakfast, transmission returning to normal.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.137s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 16; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0541s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb