Amman, Jordan


Advertisement
Jordan's flag
Middle East » Jordan » North » Amman
May 16th 2010
Published: May 16th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Spiderman! Spiiiiderman!Spiderman! Spiiiiderman!Spiderman! Spiiiiderman!

Keeping Amman safe for you and me.
I was in Amman for a week. Somehow it did not quite do it for me this time. I guess after the rustic charm of Syria it was a bit too much concrete. Or something.
Did relax at the Farah hotel though, build up some energy reserves before heading into the desert (not that it helps much, half a day of driving in the heat and you feel like you need another holiday, in Antartica). Also met some Dutch people who turned out to live a couple of streets away from me. Went out, found a place to drink some alcohol at, euh, interesting prices. On the way back to the hotel the guy bought some arak... suffice it to say, it is a good thing Hasims serves falafel at 5 in the morning, it was good. Why is it in Amman at 5 am most music stores are open? "It's early, can't find my Shakira CD, OMG I need it now!"
The last evening in Amman I was chilling out with some other tourists when we heard live music. We decided to go investigate, but by the time we found the location (Souk Jara by Rainbow street) it was over.
The streets are dangerous...The streets are dangerous...The streets are dangerous...

So the roof is a better place to practice
Bummer. Still had a nice evening though, dinner at Hashims once again.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Just another beetle...Just another beetle...
Just another beetle...

It has been parked there since at least last september when I was in Amman.


27th May 2010

In your foot steps
Hi, we have planned to do a trip much like you departing next May. If you have time could you email us any advice/tips please. Places to stay that you recommend would be helpful. Have a great trip. Paul and Angie
8th July 2010

i want to know about Jordan
my boyfriend love to leave in jordan, but my sister when to Jordan for 2 yrs.She told me Jordan is not clean speacialy toilet...is this true ....? ann!
4th October 2010

Late response
Depends on your standards :-) Compared to some european countries Jordan is not the cleanest, but I don't think its that bad. I've seen lots worse in other countries! Regarding the toilets: In the hotels I stayed in (and they were quite cheap) it wasn't a real problem, except that some places have squat toilets instead of Western style 'seat' toilets. Takes some getting used to, that's all. And it's cleaner that sitting on a toilet :-)

Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 28; dbt: 0.025s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb