Welcome to Jordan


Advertisement
Jordan's flag
Middle East » Jordan » North » Amman
July 9th 2008
Published: July 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post

It’s 7:15a now and I just got back from breakfast. As I approached my room I noticed that the carpet in front of my door was darker in that circular pattern that can only mean one thing - flooding. But wait - I’m getting ahead of myself. Let’s start with my arrival in Jordan 36 hours ago where I watched the carousel go ‘round and ‘round until it stopped without producing my cherished luggage. I filled out my “lost luggage” form like a good boy (along with 20 other people) and was assured that my bag would be on the next flight which occurs in **24 hours**. I had to work yesterday, and did so wearing what I flew in, REI hiking shorts and a silk button-down short-sleeved shirt. Could have been worse. My bags were supposed to arrive yesterday around 7 or 8 - they didn’t. I was awakened by a knock at 1am announcing the delivery of my needed cargo. When I opened my bag I was shocked to find that my only clean shirt and my beard clippers were missing. Arguably the only two things that looked valuable in there as the shirt was plastic wrapped and looked new. About a year ago I came upon this (great) method of laundry management. I load my suitcase with dirty clothes from the week before and arrive at my next destination a day early so the hotel has time to clean all my stuff - then I wear clean stuff for the week and repeat the next week. Keeps me from ironing, which I hate. Sooo… It’s 6am, I’m up looking at a bag full of dirty shirts, 2 dress shirts, a polo and button down linen short-sleever. Wrinkled and dirty. So I figure I’ll steam them to get the wrinkles out and see which one looks best. I set the 4 shirts up in the bathroom, set the shower on High/Hot and leave for breakfast. The shower was of the handheld variety, and as it got hot it apparently “spun” around until it was squirting my shirts and flooding the bathroom with water. So, now I have neither clean, nor dry shirts to wear today and “Abdul” and “Hazeem” are still in my room running a wet vac to suck up my mess. Welcome to Jordan.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0384s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb