June 19, 20, and 21


Advertisement
Jordan's flag
Middle East » Jordan » North » Amman
June 21st 2023
Published: June 21st 2023
Edit Blog Post

On June 19 we left our Glamping compound for the dreaded long day in a bus. There comes a day in every tour that no matter where you are going there is one terrible day spent traveling. If you recall, we started our tour in Amman in the north of Jordan and traveled ever south to Petra. We had many stops along the way so the travel was not bad...but the reverse was not so much.

We were in Petra and our evening destination was the Dead Sea Resort hotel (Holiday Inn) for 7 of us; while the rest of the travelers were heading to Amman to board flights home, or to continue with another tour. Many continuing on were Aussies! Australians have a thing that their country is so far away, about 24 hours to fly anywhere, that once they are gone, they stay gone for anywhere from 4 to 8 weeks. Some will book tours back to back or take a few days before the next tour, etc. But many will travel for extended periods of time to get the best bang for their buck. What a life! I wish I could do that.

The dreaded travel day lasted 8 and 1/2 hours as we drove through some amazing countryside back to Amman. Unfortunately, some of us, about 8, got a bit of the old traveler's revenge! We can pinpoint it to the Bedouin Camp dinner several nights ago. Some of us had a very mild case but others (me and our guide) were a lot worse. I basically did not eat anything worth eating for two and a half days! It was uncomfortable but I was prepared. I had some Imodium and our friend Dr. Vicki had some Imodium and a special prescription Traveler's medication. More on that later!

I drank water to keep hydrated, very important, and ate very little. I missed three dinners and two lunches but was never too uncomfortable, I'm sorry to say that traveler's sickness is not unusual. It was most likely due to some less than perfectly washed vegetables or perhaps not perfectly clean hands. Since almost every meal was a buffet of some sort, the odds of something happening were very high and so we hit the lottery.

Preparation is critical. Before you leave home, make sure you have something in your suitcase for stomach ailments, a good first aid kit, and all of your medications with you at all times. You never know when illness or injury will strike so being prepared can make the traveling much more comfortable.

Dr. Vicki kindly gave me her Imodium because I frankly could not find mine, can you say unprepared? It worked very well but on the third day I got worse, so she offered me the prescription antibiotic. I knew I had a stomach infection so the antibiotic should work. I took the prescribed two pills to stop the runs, but three minutes after taking them I tossed my cookies! Strangely enough, however, after the incident, I felt better and started to improve immediately. I'm not sure if the disease had run its course or if I was terrified that Dr. Viki would offer me another dose of the script!

We arrived at the Holiday Inn on the Dead Sea only to have to say goodbye to our Guide and tour director Ahmed and many of our new friends. It was bittersweet as the next two days some of us would enjoy relaxation at a beautiful Spa Resort.

June 20

Our first full day at the resort was spent in total relaxation. They have a number of pools, and access to a private beach right on the Dead Sea. Vicki, Cathy, and I spent most of the day sunning and burning and swimming in the luxurious warm pool water. Viki enjoyed a massage at the Spa. It was a perfect day of relaxing after a long and enlightening journey through the Holy Land.

We had a great opportunity this evening to sit outside and enjoy the entertainment of a professional belly dancer. Vicki, Melissa, her sister Michele, Cathy, and I enjoyed the entertainment and some nonalcoholic fruit concoctions while we enjoyed the conversation and laughs as the clock ticked closer and closer to having to say goodbye.

Eventually, Father Time won out and we said our goodbyes and headed off to bed.

June 21

Travel home. Our journey began with a ride from the Dead Sea to Amman. Then a flight of Royal Jordanian Air to Tel Aviv. This was followed by a Delta flight to NYC and finally a second Delta flight to Detroit and the hour drive home. Another amazing vacation is in the books. Time to start planning 2024~

Advertisement



Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 8; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0285s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb