nebi samwil


Advertisement
Israel's flag
Middle East » Israel
December 17th 2005
Published: December 17th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Nebi Samwil - the tomb of the prophet Samuel - was a mosque that may or may not be over the spot where the prophet Samuel is buried. It was a good place that we could remember him, never the less. Even though it was a mosque, however, I saw so many Chasidim wandering around the grounds praying. On our way back to the bus, one of them stopped me and asked where I was from. I told him that i was visiting from the States. And he told me, "We are so happy you are here. G-d willing, you will make your home here one day soon."

I had several encounters like that over the course of the trip. I guess that most people just assumed that i was jewish and treated me accordingly. My experience within Judaism is typically one of not fitting. I'm used to being told, "Go away. This is not the place for you." It was a different story in Israel. Granted, it was only a ten-day experience and i saw all the best. But i still felt like it was a coming home of sorts.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

sean sean
sean

ok, if you look on the far left of the picture, in the horizon, you can see the towers on the hills surrounding jerusalem...
us twous two
us two

i always have to include a cute picture of us. sorryyyyyy!!!


Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0404s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb