Crossing the Jordan


Advertisement
Israel's flag
Middle East » Israel » West Bank » Jericho
September 19th 2008
Published: September 19th 2008
Edit Blog Post

After driving across the desert plain of Moab, we crossed the Jordan River approximately where the Israelites crossed when Jehovah miraculously stopped the river. The Allenby Bridge is named for the British field marshal who captured Jerusalem from the Ottoman Turks in 1917.

I must agree with Naaman the Syrian. Although the River floods to a mighty crest in the spring, at this time of year it is a muddy trickle. I'm sure he felt insulted at being asked to dip himself in it, and I'm certain there are seven streams back in Fairfax County that appear more impressive.

We are already over 800 feet below sea level.

Nearby is the ancient city of Jericho, where Rahab hid the 2 Israelite spies, and where God made the city walls collapse so Joshua could take the city. This is also where Achan stole several items and hid them in his tent. It became part of the territory of Benjamin. It is now a city of about 25,000 Palestinians.

Advertisement



19th September 2008

Blog eating my comments
I posted two great comments on the previous entries, and I dont see them...Anyway, I wonder if the river was higher back in Naaman's day. That is interesting that it is a trickle in the dry season, that may explain why Naaman didn't want to dip in it.
19th September 2008

Dear Daddy, I miss you. We are having lots of fun. I like your pictures. We let Anja's butterfly go yesterday. love, Isabella (aka Belles)
21st September 2008

Muddy
I can follow that thought. Even in 104DF it would not look very inviting. I wonder though how difficult it could be to cross the stream that the Israelites made such a big deal about it?

Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0626s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb