First Days in Tel Aviv.


Advertisement
Israel's flag
Middle East » Israel » Tel Aviv District » Tel Aviv
June 27th 2012
Published: June 29th 2012
Edit Blog Post

When I first landed in Tel Aviv's Ben-Gurion airport, I learnt the (Harsh?) reality of my first day in the Holy Land. Shabbat (the sabbath) is celebrated not on Sunday but from Sundown Friday to sundown Saturday, and it's a strict religious observance here. Trains don't run, and whatever taxi I took cost about 40% more than it would have. Maybe I shouldn't have landed on a Saturday. Since it was Shabbat, many stores and shops in Tel Aviv was closed, giving her a dead kind of feel, and I really didn't like it at first, but a day or 2 later, it started to seem a lot more like Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, where I grew up. For being in Tel Aviv for barely one week, I've met a great group of people who I'll be with for the next month plus, I'll take a leap of faith and say, I've fallen in love with this city! For my first days here, Todah (Thank you!) Tel Aviv!


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0479s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb