Rosh Hashanah in Tel Aviv


Advertisement
Israel's flag
Middle East » Israel » Tel Aviv District » Tel Aviv
September 24th 2009
Published: September 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Shanah tovah to all! It is definitely moving into fall, at least up here in Jerusalem. Last night I put a blanket on my bed and the acorns are starting to drop. (Who knew there were oak trees in Jerusalem?!)

Living

I spent my Rosh Hashanah with my friend Tamar, her husband, Eric, and their extended family, who all live just north of Tel Aviv. I must confess I had been feeling a little homesick (ok, more than a little!) with the arrival of the holiday, but I quickly was put to work cooking and getting ready! Best possible antidote! We had 16 people for Rosh Hashanah dinner and enough food for five times that many - 3 kinds of fish, chicken, 3 salads, enough rice for an army, olives and pickles and then 2 cakes plus chocolate mousse plus fruit. Think Thanksgiving minus the pumpkin pie and cranberry sauce!

Tamar's family has a tradition of expanding the Rosh Hashanah seder. Most Jews dip apples into honey to symbolize a sweet new year and many Sephardic Jews (and some others) eat other symbolic foods as well. (For example, pomegranate seeds in hopes that we will have as many
Herzliya beachHerzliya beachHerzliya beach

This is the view from Tamar's parents' balcony. We did tashlich just a little up the coast from here.
merits as there are seeds in the pomegranate.) Tamar's family asks guests to bring our own blessings. One person brought a spicy condiment for an exciting year; one person brought almond cookies in the shape of a horse shoe for good luck. I brought passion fruit.

We went to services at Beit Daniel, a Reform congregation in Tel Aviv. I really enjoyed being in the congregation! I was particulary moved by a prayer on behalf of Gilad Shalit, the Israeli soldier still being held captive by Hamas for more than 3 years now. The shofar service was also very powerful. All three rabbis blew the shofar at the same time. (No, don't expect me to bring that tradition back to Hillel next year!) What a primal sound!

We later did tashlich (a symbolic ceremony to rid ourselves of sin) in the Mediterranean. The water was warmer than the air! We were out of bread crumbs, so we took baggies of the left-over rice and threw it into the water. (We still had enough to feed an army.)

It was really a lovely holiday! I am grateful to Tamar and Eric for including me with their family!
Green olivesGreen olivesGreen olives

We bought these olives at the local fruit stand. They were just in olive oil with bits and pieces of olive leaves and twigs in the mix.

A non-Rosh-Hashanah-oriented, only-in-Jerusalem moment: Yesterday I was sitting at home in the living room reading a book and I heard a sound like a bunch of cow bells. I thought, "If I didn't know better, I would think a flock of goats was moving by." Then I thought, "Wait a minute!" I jumped up, ran to the balcony, and sure enough, a flock of goats was indeed coming up through the Forest of Peace and then down into the valley.

Learning

This week at Mandel we are practicing the Mandel-ian method. Each of us is presenting a workshop on an educational initiative we have done in the past and analyzing it according to what concern it addressed, why we chose to address it the way we did, and what other alternatives might be. We also looked for the meta-issues emerging from the specifics to think about the interplay of theory and practice. My presentation was on my meditation circle. At the end, some of the fellows asked me if I would be willing to lead a meditation circle for us once a week. Of course I said yes.

Yom Kippur begins Sunday night and I will be staying in Jerusalem. I hope all of you who are observing Yom Kippur have an easy fast and a meaningful day! May you be sealed for blessing in the book of life!

Advertisement



24th September 2009

Great view from Tamar's folks balcony!
Hi Lisa, Wow! Herzliya is every bit as beautiful as the best coastline in La Jolla- how wonderful to do Tashlich there. Good to read your blog, sounds like you are doing so well! Now if you could just email those olives for real, instead of the picture. All is well here too- the Levy's are getting Leah and the kids papers together for aliyah. It's quite an involved process- but they are doing it. I guess Gahl just gets on line and zips through with his Israeli passport- but for Leah and the babies- it takes a lot of time and effort. They'll be there the end of June- I hope you are still in Israel when they arrive- and maybe even though your program will be over, you will stay for the summer???? We went Shul in the East Bay with a new Rabbi- and although he is a neat guy, and everyone was very nice, I still miss my Shul in La Jolla, and my friends. Next year for the Chagim, I think I will be in Israel with my kids, G-d willing. Each year a novel experience- but certainly not as unique as yours this year, after so many years at Hillel. Enjoy every moment, this is such a marvelous opportunity for you. What did Hillel do without you??? It must have been really weird with you gone. I hope the Mandel experience is as fullfilling as the living situation seems to be- and May 5770 bring you all good things, and peace in Israel. Have a meaningful fast- and may you be sealed in the Book of Life. Lots of love from San Francisco!
24th September 2009

Hi Lisa: It appears you're starting out with a great new year! May it be joyful, healthful, and peaceful. Shana Tovah! Herb
25th September 2009

Shofar
We still have a teachable moment (if fleeting) to tell the story of Shofar. Its influence on prayer and its historical antecedents going back to the Temple sacrifices. For full explanation, go to Shofar Sounders WebPage http://shofar221.com
25th September 2009

Happy feasts and fasts....
Here I am on a mountain top in the Napa valley where the tomatoes are ripening and full of hot sunshine...olives and grapes abound. We swim in Spring waters, icy cold, we pick the squash and marvel at the seed pods of trees we never saw before. I am with all 4 of my other sibs and their spouses. It is all childhood memories, stories, cooking, eating, tasting, harvesting and long hours at the table telling tales and praying blessings. What a warm link to you, dear Lisa, far off in Jerusalem.
27th September 2009

Lisa, I always love reading your blog entry and particularly enjoyed the goats story. That's what I love so much about Jerusalem, the blend of ancient and new. My best for a tzom kal and a meaningful Yom Kippur, Charlene

Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0526s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb