Living in a pod (although it's really more of a dome)


Advertisement
Israel's flag
Middle East » Israel » South District
February 3rd 2010
Published: February 3rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

I've been finding that when I'm really enjoying myself and living in the moment that I don't have as much incentive to blog - it ruins it. But i'm still under the illusion that there are people back home who want to know what I'm up to, and it is some pretty interesting stuff. There's so much to tell, but I'll sum it up a little. I've been doing a lot of mud-building here. It's really interesting, although even in the desert it rains sometimes, and if the structures aren't oiled there can be problems. Yesterday we were doing a lot of repairs on the domes, which got damaged in the biblical flooding of a few weeks ago. So that's another fun part. I love in this awesome mud and straw dome. There will eventually be picures. I cant explain its coolness in words. There are 11 domes total, which means about 22 people in the neighborhood. THe neighborhood itself is fantastic - we have composting toilets and solar showers and solar-powered lights and a solar oven. There are green apprentices (a several-month permaculture course that I hope I can come back and do some day), and now 6 Eco volunteers, which is what I am.  I had a dome to myself for the first week, and now I have a roommate. She's a peppy hairdresser from NYC, and if it's possible, she talks more than I do. But she's really nice. What else have I been up to? On Tuesdays and Thursdays we pick veggies for the kitchen from our organic garden. I dug up sweet potatoes yesterday morning. In general I've just been having a great time. In my free time I go hiking or running or watch movies or do yoga which one of the GA's teaches two days a week. Oh, and sometimes we get to sit in on GA lessons, about gray-water recycling or vermicompost or other awesome permaculture things. Everyone I live and work with is really cool, which is a plus. So basically I'm having a great time. Oh, and I also forgot to mention the Jewish gapyear kids who are also on the kibbutz. They're also really cool. So yup, having a great time. Hope all's well at home!

Advertisement



3rd February 2010

no illusions
It's not an illusion dear one... there are many of us who look forward to hearing yours thoughts and stories. I know I am very excited when I get an email that you've posted something! However, I also understand your feelings and the disruption to your experience there when stopping to reconnect here. I suspect it is a bit like stepping out of character. I am so glad you are having a great time and are learning so much and about not just your environments and what to do in them, etc, but about yourself as well. Thanks for sharing! Much love, Rebecca B
3rd February 2010

???
Hi Maddy; We love reading your blog. Life seems exciting. One ?...what is a GA??? We are both fine and enjoying Arizona. Please stay safe and keep up your blogging. Love and Kisses, Grandma Heni and Grandpa Dick
5th February 2010

Hola!!
OMG you are hillarious !!! :-) I really enjoy reading your blog! ...me, still in Italy.. But probably coming back to Israel soon... Baci, keep having a great time!! Mika
8th February 2010

Keep it coming!
I still read your blog! Im enraptured by your travels, and I wish I could be doing all these things rather than learning about globalization in my classrooms (even though thats fascinating too). I cant wait to exchange stories when you get back! PS did I tell you I went dogsledding over our winter break? Almost as cool as traveling to Europe and the middle East, right?

Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 10; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0657s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb