Ulpan Overview


Advertisement
Israel's flag
Middle East » Israel » South District » Be'er Sheva
August 27th 2007
Published: August 27th 2007
Edit Blog Post

For the first 6 weeks of my study abroad program, I have intensive Hebrew classes, referred to as Ulpan, for three hours a day, five days a week. During the Ulpan sessions we have group trips every weekend to familiarize ourselves with the country and to encourage travel before the semester begins. Ulpan began Monday, July 20th and the class ideally covers two semesters of Hebrew in six weeks. Ulpan generally runs Sunday through Thursday and I have found it difficult to wake up for classes so early as I have been spoiled at Davidson with 9:30 classes only a 5 minute walk from my dorm room. Ora, my professor, is very enthusiastic and kind. It is challenging at times as she struggles with English translations and speaks in Hebrew for majority of the class period. It is extremely helpful to be subjected to the sound of the language at all times however, it causes difficulties when she cannot explain the grammar in English and we are often left to decipher on our own. Furthermore, she does not teach for a textbook and only class worksheets and handouts written solely in Hebrew. I am amazed with the pace at which we are learning but I must admit I was surprised at the rigor of the course. I am in the alef (1st) level of Hebrew as I have absolutely no background in the language and my class is comprised of roughly 20 students of various ages from the states and German.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0333s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb