Israel


Advertisement
Israel's flag
Middle East » Israel » North District
May 30th 2008
Published: May 30th 2008
Edit Blog Post

NazarethNazarethNazareth

Where Jesus was taken to be thrown off the cliff / jumped / disappeared / however you would like to interpret it!
We've been in Israel for one week now... and I was definitely ready to slow down and settle in to life at Kibbutz Messilot. I have been sleeping for 8-11 hours every night and I still feel lethargic during the day! I blame my constant fatigue on trying to follow Hebrew conversations and the warm weather.

Each day we go to sleep to the sounds of a very loud air conditioner and an even louder alarm. I'm not sure what the alarm is for (probably a car or truck) but it is constant and pretty annoying! One of Yuda's friends says she thinks it must be the 'don't worry, everything is alright alarm' because nobody ever turns it off!

When we wake up we wander across to Yuda's parent's house, eat, then either sit around or catch a bus (or drive) to somewhere nearby (nearby means within 40km) before catching up with more friends who live in other kibbutzim or towns.

Earlier in the week we went to Nazereth... the place where the Virgin Mary was told by the Angel Gabriel she would have a son and the town Jesus grew up in (apparently). It reminded me a lot of Jordan (it is a mostly Arab settlement). It was quite nice and there is a great view from the cliff where Jesus was taken to be thrown off but mysteriously disappeared (please excuse my ignorance of bible stories... that is my understanding of it). My theory is that because the wind is so strong it just pushed him on to a ledge below (it's more of a steep hill than a cliff).

We visited the Basilica of Annunciation - the church built on the exact place where Mary received her news. To be honest, I was disappointed that the church is so new - I think I have been spoiled with so many ancient sites... don't get me wrong, it IS an ancient site, but the church was built in 1969. In the 1st and 2nd centuries the site was a place of worship dedicated to Mary, then in 427 the Byzantines built a church there... and in the 12th century the Crusaders built a church on top of the ruins of the Byzantine church, and now the current church is on top!

Yesterday Yuda and I joined Henk (Yuda's dad) and a group of Dutch
The Virgin MaryThe Virgin MaryThe Virgin Mary

Basilica of Anunciation
expats and their families to celebrate the Dutch Queen's Birthday (Beatrix... I think!). The celebrations were at a kibbutz on the shores of the Sea of Galilee. It is a REALLY nice place! I tried to walk on water (apparently that's where Jesus managed it) but, alas I sank. Everyone was very patriotic (you looked strange if you WEREN'T wearing orange or some kind of cheese headpiece) and had a lot of fun playing games (sack races, musical chairs etc) and eating great food.

Okay, now I am absolutely starving and Yuda is cooking chili con carne... so I'm off to eat!
Keep in touch and check out facebook for more photos!



Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

BaklavaBaklava
Baklava

YUM!!!
The Sea of GalileeThe Sea of Galilee
The Sea of Galilee

Me (not quite) walking on water.
Sea of GalileeSea of Galilee
Sea of Galilee

My pile of rocks.


Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0301s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb