Shabbat in Jerusalem


Advertisement
Israel's flag
Middle East » Israel » Jerusalem District » Jerusalem
September 1st 2006
Published: September 2nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

There is something to be said for holding a piece of pottery, over 2000 years old, in the middle of an archaeological dig in Israel. It is quite possible one of the coolest things I had ever done, working with kids I had just met two days ago, looking at pieces of our people's past. Each piece of pottery could have been someone's wine jug, cooking pot, mixing bowl. The stone chamber 15 feet below ground charred with ancient fire telling a story of a baker, a potter, a common person. A bunch of us discovered steps, and began to frantically clear away the dirt, even as everyone else began to bring the buckets up to the surface. In the process, we uncovered basically an entire charred cooking pot in pieces. It was unexpectedly exciting.
As I scraped the chalky dirt into the buckets, it finally hit me, two days after the fact, that I was in Israel. It was so much fun sifting through the buckets and finding pieces we had overlooked down in the dig.
When we got back to the Kibbutz, we began to get ready for Shabbat. For our first Shabbat together in Israel, we were going to the Kotel.
It’s been almost ten years since the last, and first, time I’d been to the Western Wall. Walking into the old city was indescribable. Looking up at the gate, pocketing with bullet holes, I just stopped thinking. My world had reduced to, “In a few moments, I am going into Jerusalem…..”
The 31 of us wound through the streets. Looking around, I started to remember things from last time I was here. Walking along the southern wall with my dad, looking at the little shops along the road…
As we turned the corner, the Dome of the Rock came into view. Immediately, my hand reached for my camera, an object I had unfortunately forgotten on the archaeological dig. I looked through the lens a bit longer than normal, soaking up the view.
Kabbalat Shabbat at the south west corner of the wall was beautiful and secluded. The wind whistled through everyone, drawing us a bit closer into ourselves as we welcomed our first Shabbat in Israel. Singing the melodies, I just smiled.
Seeing the Kotel, actually being by the wall, has become a rather bittersweet event for me. While I cannot ignore the meaningfulness I feel when in close proximity to the wall, I also can’t ignore my jealousy of the men. The male side of the mechitza always seems so lively, joyful….dancing and singing that can be heard all around. But while the girls’ side is beautiful, with the women praying and singing too, it seems more subdued, less happy.
School is starting on Sunday. Oddly enough I am very excited. Life on Kibbutz Tzuva is very different from home, and I love it here. I can’t wait to see how the rest of this trip unfolds.


Advertisement



3rd September 2006

Shabbat in Jerusalem
Rachel, that sounds amazing! It's fantastic that you made a "find" like that. As for welcoming Shabbat at the Wall, well, doesn't that about beat all. Someday, my daughter, you too will sing and pray and let your joyous voice be heard there. Have fun on your first day of school!

Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0489s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb