Deacon Peter


Advertisement
Israel's flag
Middle East » Israel » Jerusalem District » Jerusalem
March 28th 2014
Published: March 28th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Today began with an encounter with one of the hotel staff in the elevator. She asked if I was American, I said yes, I asked her if she was from here. He said yes, I was born in Jerusalem, I asked her if she liked it here. She said, “I LOVE Jerusalem! We have Jesus here!” What an amazing witness from someone who had no way of telling if I was Jewish, Muslim or something else.

We made our way into Palestine through the wall the Israelis built after the 1999 intifada. We went to the Church of the nativity, the main part of which is nearly falling down from neglect. I was able to kiss the star on the floor where Christ was born. We then went into the Catholic Church which shares a wall with the main church, to celebrate mass. I got to preach and I almost made it through without tears…almost. Under the Catholic wing of the church of the nativity is the place St Jerome sequestered himself for 30 years to translate Greek & Hebrew Scripture into the Latin Vulgate bible. I’m sure he was ready to get out of there after that time! We also visited the home(s) of Elizabeth and Zechariah. One is lower down in the town of Bethlehem for doing business and one is about a mile away and up 115 stairs where it is cooler in the summer. One of these two churches is the place where Mary came to visit Elizabeth and where John the Baptist was raised, and John’s tomb is in the basement of the lower church but is not open to visitors. Fr Foynes and I prayed the magnificat in the lower church, maybe in the same room Mary first spoke the words, “My soul proclaims the greatness of the Lord and my spirit exalts in God my savior…”

We proceeded to the shepherd’s field where the future King David tended the sheep and the angel appeared to later shepherds with good tiding of great joy for all the people. Another Great day. Mass at 5:30 tomorrow morning on Calvary, I’m REALLY glad Msgr. Foynes is preaching.

Pictures on post earlier today

Shabot Shalom or Sabbath Peace on this Friday evening in Jerusalem

Advertisement



29th March 2014

Prayers
Please include us in your prayers as you visit these holy places. I am including you in my prayers, that you may be safe in your travels. Enjoy this unique opportunity.

Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0638s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb