Jerusalem: all for peace 107.2 FM


Advertisement
Israel's flag
Middle East » Israel » Jerusalem District » Jerusalem
July 15th 2011
Published: July 20th 2011
Edit Blog Post

So today I went to Jerusalem, because I love the city but also because I really wanted to visit Martin and Liz's internship. Martin really enjoys it and I think Liz is liking it more everyday. I really love Jerusalem and a small part of me is really sad that I didn't get placed there...but I'm also super happy that I got placed in Tel Aviv, as it is a very Western City and I don't feel a large sense of displacement living here.

While I didn't find the internship too exciting I think that their mission and their goals are very admirable and very similar to Windows. Radio doesn't really do anything for me, unless it's a station that is playing the latest songs in Philadelphia. I talked with Liz mostly, although I did see their supervisor Tami but she was walking out the door and didn't really have time to talk. Liz told me about her responsibilities and what the organization did.

I think that a joint Israeli-Palestinian radio station is a great idea. There aren't enough activities for Palestinians and Israelis to do together and to just have fun. I understand that the radio station talks about many serious topics, news and current events, but the people I meet also seemed to really enjoy it and I know Martin really loves recording his show. I know that this desire I have for Israelis and Palestinians to engage in activities together is a little juvenile, but I truly believe that having fun together leads to transcending the barriers and stereotypes of the "other."

Liz talked about what she and Martin did for the radio station. She helps to rewrite the English website, updating the staff bios and polishing the rest of the website. Martin also helps out on the website. He collects news headlines and writes them in English along with some assorted research. The big project they have though is their radio show, where they talk about news and politics, the program and other people's internships, their internship, and daily life.

The radio station was a little small but it was a really fun atmosphere. Liz and Martin are having a lot of fun. I've listened to their radio show and it's pretty awesome, a little amateur but good fun. They interviewed Rush last week and asked him so questions about his internship, what Life in Tel Aviv is like, and what he thinks about the conflict.

Sometime this week they are going to try and interview me. Liz let me know some of the questions ahead of time: how do you like your internship? what do you do at the internship? how do you like the people you intern with?

Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0435s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb