O Little Town of Bethlehem


Advertisement
Israel's flag
Middle East » Israel » Jerusalem District » Jerusalem
December 2nd 2010
Published: December 3rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Faith sure has played a significant role on my voyage to the Middle East. While I was in Luxor, Egypt, I was able to experience the Muslim "Eed" celebrations first hand. I remember watching everyone outside, joyously running around and "playing" from my hotel balcony. Last night I noticed all of the Chanukah displays in various shops and light displays being put up all over the city. I accidentally ran into a public square where they were lighting a giant menorah...it was the first night of Chanukah and I likened the experience to the lighting of the Christmas tree at City Hall...people were singing songs and suddenly a group of young Hassidic men broke out into a dance and started clapping and singing in a circle dance enticing everyone to join them. It was great fun!

How ironic that the next day I was headed for Bethlehem. Now, in a romantic sense, this has always been my dream to see this sacred place...it's mentioned in so many Christmas carols and everyone knows the sweet story of the birth of the baby Jesus. It's very pastoral and melodic to say the least. Well, one has to keep those notions close to their heart when they visit this site. First, as it is in Palestinian Territory, I had to cross a border checkpoint, one that is heavy on the military I might add, so it was somewhat disconcerting to see the infamous "wall" that surrounds this area, the soldiers watching from various observation points and the different atmosphere that it subsequently conveys. Your imagination is vital if you want to savour this holy visit and I just had to keep imagining Mary and Joseph on a donkey, meandering through the streets looking for a place to rest.

The Church of the Nativity is quite beautiful and is set front and centre in Manger Square. The actual spot where Christ was born is marked in the church and the lineups were unbelievable. I had my own private tour guide (a very long story!) and he somehow managed to bypass the line and bring me right to the site immediately. It is very simple, a star is used for the setting and pilgrims kneel and pray, touch, and enjoy their "moment" when they are able to become a part of this holy setting. Of course, during the whole event, it was crucial to block out the sound of the security officer yelling at people to keep moving and to keep in mind that there were so many others waiting to have their sacred moment. I have to admire each pilgrim though...they were able to "block" out the drones of the crowds and the incessant barking of the officer and savour that one special moment.

I know I was able to do the same and am learning more and more, that when visiting these sites...one must have faith and a wonderful imagination in order to make the moment unique and personal.

The next time I hear "O Little Town of Bethlehem", it will take on a new special meaning for me..."above thy deep and dreamless sleep...the silent stars go by..."


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



4th December 2010

O Little Town of Bethlehem
I have Tears Of Joy Kevin !! I had hoped more than anything that you would be able to visit Bethlehem, thank you for sharing this Sacred Pilgrimage I am so very touched and know Mom is smiling alot too, I just know it. luv Jude

Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0539s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb