Arrival in Jerusalem


Advertisement
Israel's flag
Middle East » Israel » Jerusalem District » Jerusalem
September 3rd 2009
Published: September 3rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Entry into Abu TorEntry into Abu TorEntry into Abu Tor

This gives you a sense of the architecture in this neighborhood.
My bags are unpacked, the kitchen is more or less stocked and I am getting to know my new neighborhood. I am living in Abu Tor, a mixed Jewish/Palestinian neighborhood just south of the Old City.

To give you a sense of what the area is like, I walk by a house festooned with Israel flags on the way to Derech Hevron, the main street; when I get out to Derech Hevron, if I look to the right, I can see the walls of the Old City in the not-so-far-away distance. I can hear church bells at various hours during the day and around 3:30 am a man comes through the neighborhood chanting in Arabic and beating a drum in beats of five; I think it is a reminder to get up and eat before the daily fast of Ramadan begins.

My apartment faces south, towards the Forest of Peace. To the left from the balcony I can see mountains in Jordan. Across the street is Jerusalem's eruv, the wire defining the area in which observant Jews can carry things on Shabbat, and one evening I heard hoofbeats and rushing out to the balcony, I saw four Palestinian men riding bareback up through the Forest. I am going to spend a lot of time out on my balcony!

I've been meeting old friends and running into acquaintances as one tends to do in Jerusalem. The program officially begins on Sunday, but we Fellows are planning to meet this Shabbat afternoon to get to know each other a little. I am looking forward getting started!

Here are some photos so you can see what my world looks like:


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Balcony view to the eastBalcony view to the east
Balcony view to the east

When it's less hazy, you can see the mountains in Jordan.
The view from my balconyThe view from my balcony
The view from my balcony

This is the Forest of Peace. For those of you familiar with Jerusalem, the tayelet (or Haas Promenade) is on the horizon.


3rd September 2009

hey babe
we stayed close to this neighborhood when we were in Israel.. and when we saw you.. actually. I love the area. The church bells and the calls from the mosque alongside the Hebrew melodies and words.. arabic.. english...hebrew... I love it. Have a great great year. Looking forward to hearing more. hugs hugs and shabbat shalom, Elana
3rd September 2009

I can't hardly wait to come! Your descriptions make everything come alive!
3rd September 2009

So great to see you before you left...and now to have a picture of where in the world you are. Sounds like you're soaking up every precious moment. Love you, Lynn =)
3rd September 2009

Nice view
Glad you're there, safe and sound, and the apartment (at least the balcony) sounds really nice. Stay well.
3rd September 2009

shalom!
Rebbe, so glad you made it safe and sound! We just got back from Lewis' first Israel experience: magical (as always)!. Drink it in, I know you will. Love from the other side of our small planet, steve
3rd September 2009

How perfect!
I couldn't be happier with this report. You stand at the navel of something so big! I wish I could electro-port my way to your terrace. Peace! Gertrud
3rd September 2009

Hi Lisa, What a wonderful way to start. I loved your discriptions and pictures. I'm sitting here breathing it in ---its revitalizing and a reminder. xoxox
3rd September 2009

Instincts
Hey Li, You have amazing instincts. You knew where not to live and ended up where you are. It sounds amazing. As soon as I have my passport I'm planning...
4th September 2009

Yay, Blog!
I love reading about your adventures! Keep it up! (what does your kitchen look like?)
4th September 2009

Wow!
Looks beautiful!
9th September 2009

love the views
The views are awesome - miss you already!
14th September 2009

jealous...
of your views!!! wow, what a wonderful location to live, say hello to the neighborhood - see yo in November!

Tot: 0.125s; Tpl: 0.03s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0469s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb