The Holy Land!


Advertisement
Published: May 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Today I got up early and got the bus across to Jerusalem. Adil joined me and it was nice to have the company because they held us at the border fo 3 hours because we had been in Syria. The border was really strange because it is completely run by 20 year olds who are doing their military duty. All these kids walking around with machine guns--quite startling.
They took my passport and asked me to sit in a chair and wait, then (after an hour) a guy about my age pulled me aside and we had a lovely chat about my travels..haha. It was very informal, and then I was asked to sit for another 10-15 minutes (1 hour in reality). Finally, we were given our passports and then we had to go and there was a massive line and another man took our passports and told us to sit down again, and after about another 45 minutes, we were led out. I guess they were satisfied that I wasnt a threat.
When we finally arrived to Old City Jerusalem and found a place, it was almost 5pm.
We walked around and checked out the old city, saw the West Wall, and the church that was built on the site that Jesus was crucified and buried. (sorry no pics today, this computer is messed). We then had a good Jerusalem dinner on a roof overlooking the beautiful golden-plated Dome of the Rock. I will leave at 7am to get in line to check out the Dome of Rock tomorrow before heading to the Dead Sea for the day!



P.S. HAHA Julia, I love your reference to Carmen Sandiego! Carmen is headed to the Dead Sea tomorrow!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.163s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1384s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb