Top Ramen, Pita, and Hummus Oh My!


Advertisement
Israel's flag
Middle East » Israel » Jerusalem District » Jerusalem
February 11th 2008
Published: February 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

It's been a while since the whole team has had input on what the update says, so here we go!

Kieran aka "Keys" or "Kiwi": Hi! Having a blast round here soaking up the atmosphere and being able to cross the road without 50 million near death experiences per square cm (that might be a slight exageration...) I have been a tad sick but my health is on the ride even though I'm still coughing so hard I want to laugh at myself. :-P It's so awesome hanging out with the backpackers here in the Holy Land, to see the places where Jesus walked with them (the backpackers) and to be able to answer their questions about Christianity; I really feel useful. Oh and something super cool I forgot to mention. We went to a traditional Jewish Shabbot (Sabbath) meal and there I met (prepare yourself!)... somebody who went to Verdon College! She graduated before I arrived but STILL. First Kiwi I meet the whole trip and she's not only from Invercargill, but Verdon College, too! Love you all back home and praying for you. -K

Mitch aka "Itchell": Hello from Jerusalem! Or should I say Shalom. What an exciting time and great experience it has been being here in the Holy Land, to be able to come to the place where the Lord walked, still blows my mind everytime I think about it! Personally I have been enjoying just walking around the Old City seeing and meeting people from all different backgrounds. (God has some imagination when He created man) HA. We also found a 24/7 worship and prayer center, so that has been great getting to be able to go to. It overlooks Mt. Zion which I thought was awesome. Thank you all for your thoughts and prayers throughout these few months. God is doing amazing things that we're all so glad to be a part of! Be blessed!

Josh aka "Gosh" (as said by Michael): Man, my love/hate relationshiop I have with outreach! Hate is definitely too strong a word- more a like a mild frustrations that it can't even be just easy and enjoyable the whole time, but the word love is definitely NOT too strong a word. At the end of the day I thrive in this environment. It's part of every man's nature to find himself in conflict and difficulty, and to be defined by the things God is willing to teach him through it. And, I can't think of a better place than DTS outreach for that kind of thing to happen. So despite all the painful times and tough decisions, I see God working mightily in this team right now. And that gets me excited.

Natalie aka Nat: What an intense adventure this outreach has been with all different kinds of things happening- it's been an emotional learning roller coaster from beginning to end. However, being where Jesus and His disciples walked, seeing a mixing pot of people and learning about their culture and customs has made this experience one I'll never forget! Hanging out, talking, and getting to know people has made this trip a blast! There are many stories to tell when I get back and pictures to show. I can't wait to see everyone and to give (and get!) hugs! (I'm a little hug deprived.)

Rachael aka Rach: Having been in Jerusalem for a week now, we have had a chance to explore the Old City, visit historical- biblical sites, and meet many new people. Although we have befriended many non-Christians, we have met up with many Christians from various groups including another "Y team from Australia and one from Norway. These encounters are great because we are able to encourage each other and share stories. Something God has really put on my heart to pray about is the breaking down the walls between denominations. I think so often we get caught up in all the rules, traditions/rituals, theology, who's "right"/who's "wrong" that we forget that all of it doesn't really matter. What matters is that we are all united as one body, in One Name, remembering and putting our focus on the person who died on the cross for me and for you. I am really looking forward to the next two and a half weeks and seeing what God has in store for us- the people we meet, the lessons we learn, and the things we see. SHould be great! Be blessed and keep in touch. <3 Rach

Advertisement



Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 40; dbt: 0.0344s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb