The trip comes to an end


Advertisement
Israel's flag
Middle East » Israel » Jerusalem District » Jerusalem
March 19th 2007
Published: March 19th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Our last two days were action packed, as I am sure Hadassah wanted us to leave with a full heart and spirit...we traveled Sunday to K'fat Adomin which was an amazing community in the West Bank....a Jewish community that came thirty years ago to a place in the desert where there was nothing and creating a beautiful garden community where Jews of all denominations live harmoniously and their children get a truly pluralistic education. Then we traveled East then south through the West Bank to the Dead Sea. The Jordanian River is drying up and no longer runs to the Dead Sea so the sea is receading and the hotels no longer had beaches so now they built canals to bring water from the northern part of the sea down to the southern part. We went to the Spa there and I got a massage and then floated and played in the dead sea. We then drove back to Jerusalem and had the best meal of our whole trip at Hadassah College where the culinary students cooked for us!

Today, our last day, we first went to Hadassah Hospital at Ein Kerem which was very impressive...they are leaps and bounds ahead of the US in Stem Cell research and are ranked as high or higher than all US trauma centers.

The finale was travleing to the new Young Judaean Center which is much improved from the days when I was in Israel as a teen. It's a gorgeous facility and I was literally offered a job to come work as a social worker with the youth who are on year course studying abroad before college. It would be an amazing life changing experience I am sure, but with purchasing a house recently and a new nephew, I don't think now is the time for me to live abroad.

I am now sitting in the airport waiting for my 1am flight and excited to come home and see my friends and my cat, but sad to end this great trip!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.137s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0752s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb