30th B-Day


Advertisement
Iraq's flag
Middle East » Iraq » West » Al Asad Airbase
July 21st 2008
Published: August 17th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Happy 30th Birthday. Just another day in Iraq. I did not even sleep in. I did want to plan a good birthday party so on my day off we will celebrate. I have received lots of great gifts for my birthday. My co-workers sent me two birthday’s in a box. It had all of the items that I would need for a party - candles, streamers, balloons, plates, hats, blowers, etc. They also sent some funny singing items, a coffee mug, button, and card. Everyone here likes the singing coffee mug.
Megan and Drew sent me a great birthday package too. It had lots of art supplies and games for me to use while avoiding boredom here in Iraq. When that package arrived it was wet which concerned me. Usually if a package is wet and leaking it is confiscated and destroyed on the spot. There was nothing wet in my package, something must have leaked on top of it. Everything in that box was in plastic except for the card so it worked out.
Kristen sent me a birthday package with party supplies too. I got more plates, candles, etc. The best was a birthday cake for my party. She baked me a pound cake that actually made the trip. It was so good. I bet that I ate most of it myself.
All of my friends take great care of me. I sure do miss everyone.


Advertisement



17th August 2008

Big bird
No one made you a Big Bird cake?
17th August 2008

Happy to read your spirits are up! We sure do miss you too. We talk about you all the time! Our meeting in a few weeks won't be the same without you.

Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.058s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb