Conference


Advertisement
Iraq's flag
Middle East » Iraq » West » Al Asad Airbase
June 30th 2008
Published: August 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The reason I traveled to Baghdad was for the Medical Service Corp in-service. It was designed to be for all Medical Service Corp to network and share ideas. The conference was a good experience. I met lots of my counterparts who operate at various bases in theater. I even ran into a LT who I attended officer basic course with three years ago. She taps me on the back and says do you remember me? I couldn’t believe what a small Army it is. Especially considering that she is National Guard and I am Reserve - the Army isn’t even our full time job. The topic of discussion at the conference was leadership and professionalism. I learned some and was even able to contribute some too. We had a cake to celebrate the 91st birthday for the corp and finished up with a junior officer development discussion. It felt very similar to something that I might be involved with in my civilian job. Almost a day away from the dust, heat, and action.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0437s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb