Father's Day


Advertisement
Iraq's flag
Middle East » Iraq » West » Al Asad Airbase
June 15th 2008
Published: June 22nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Father’s Day and my first day off this deployment. I planned to get up, after sleeping in a bit, and go for a bike ride on the ridge of the base. I woke up to the radio (walkie talkie) and thought I was getting a call. It was not for me but since it was the evening at home I decided to get dressed and walk to the hardstand. I called home and talked with my girls. That made my day even though it was 0300 in the morning. I slept until 0800 hoping to go for my bike ride. I opened the door to the CHU and was greeted by a sandstorm. Ahhhh. So much for my adventure. I hung out in the CHU with Mark and watched Lawrence of Arabia. “I am a river to my people.”
Tuna Casserole was the Father’s Day treat in the DFAC (guess Army birthday stretched our resources). In the afternoon I put on some good music and sketched on my new sketch pad. I have been working with pencil mostly but I am experimenting with charcoals and prismacolors. I have attached a picture taken outside near the arear where our barbeque grill is - not the place for a Father's Day BBQ today. Gritty steak anyone. Back to the grind tomorrow.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0414s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb