First Morning in Iraq


Advertisement
Iraq's flag
Middle East » Iraq » West » Al Asad Airbase
May 28th 2008
Published: June 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

First morning in Iraq. I got up and went for a walk with Mark. We explored all that the base has to offer. There
is a small outdoor courtyard that has a Burger King and Pizza Hut. You order at a window and pick it up at another
similar to a drive in like Sonic. Since we lack cars we eat outside a picnic tables. The heat of the day keeps
most away until night time. Next door there is a PX (Post Exchange) where they offer snacks and some personal
items. Most of the stuff is picked through so you really can't find what you need. I have thought often since I
have been overseas that the AAFES (Army Air Force Exchange Service) is really lacking the correct leadership of
supply chain. The have too much of what we don't need and not enough of what we need. For instance they have 100
pairs of small socks and no soap. I have met very few Soldiers and Marines with small feet but I ahve met lots
that needed a bath. I suppose since I come from an organization that has evcellent management and supply chain - oh and training. I am quite spoiled. Perhaps I will write a letter to AAFES.
Next to the PX is a Movie Theater. They play movies already on DVD but it should be nice to slip away from time to time. In the theater they have a coffee shop called the Green Bean. The Green Bean is a chain - I read in their literature that they donate 10 percent of their proceeds to fallen soldiers families. It is not Starbucks but an acceptable substitute and has a good cause.
We ahve three gyms - no need to get fat at the BK or Pizza Hut. There is also an indoor swimming pool. There is a
big stadium and outdoor pool built by Saddam but the pool has been filled in with concrete. Rumor is that Saddam
made the pool a mass grave - don't know how true it is.
I plan to get my room set up this afternoon. It will be nice to put things away so that I can stop living out of
my duffel bag.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0744s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb