Back to the Roots


Advertisement
Iran's flag
Middle East » Iran
April 23rd 2006
Published: April 23rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Trip to Iran


PomegranatePomegranatePomegranate

In front of a pomegranate store in Teheran. The juice is reeeeaaaallly sour!
Salam aleikom!

It's been a while since I posted my last travelblog. I hope everybody is doing well and is having lots of fun wherever he or she is. Right now I prepare myself for the upcoming semester in Munich.
But before that I had a 5 week trip to my family in Iran. The last time I was there was in 2001 and I couldn't do any sightseeing. Besides, I didn't have a camera with me and there was no travelblog.
But this time I took one with me to share some of my experiences there with you.
My first destination was Teheran. I stayed only few days and I was hanging around with my cousin Ali. Then I flew to Mashad where most of my family is still living. From there we went by car to the Caspian Sea, where we stayed about a week and celebrated Persian New Year. After that I went on my own to Esfahan for 2 days. It's a large city in the heart of Iran and it was the former capital of the ancient Persian Kingdom. Therefore Esfahan has a lot of touristic places to offer. Most of my pics are made
TeheranTeheranTeheran

I think the mountains are breathtaking
there.
Altogether it was a nice trip back to the roots, but I'm also glad to be back in Munich. Spring is arriving and as soon as it gets warm, the city gets a touch of Italy. Everybody goes out and drinks a coffee or two outside a coffeeshop. You see more convertibles and sunglasses than ever on the streets and of course a lot of beautiful people.
Ok ok, now enough with this advertising. I think you get the point. I want you to come here and see it for yourself. It's worth it! And whenever you come, please tell me, I'll be more than happy to be your personal tourist (and party;-) guide.
Maybe I'll create another travelblog to show you my city and the things that you miss if you don't come.

Anyway, I wish you all a wonderful time and please let me know how you are doing! I'm happy about any message from you!

Enjoy.
Kassra


Additional photos below
Photos: 44, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

From AboveFrom Above
From Above

and that is only a small part of the 10 million capital
Teheran stylingTeheran styling
Teheran styling

My aunt and the way women wear their headscarf
Big brothers are watching youBig brothers are watching you
Big brothers are watching you

Those 2 guys on the 2 paintings can be seen everywhere. You just can't get rid of them...
SunriseSunrise
Sunrise

...on the way to the Caspian Sea
Haftsin Haftsin
Haftsin

Seven items starting with the letter S in Persian. Some people add more items. Each symbolizes things that you wish for the new year, like health, luck, etc...
Ancient city close to the Caspian SeaAncient city close to the Caspian Sea
Ancient city close to the Caspian Sea

The inhabitants of Masouleh actually use the roofs of the houses below as their footpath
Delnaz and meDelnaz and me
Delnaz and me

...that's my cousins' daughter
Viewpoint in LahijanViewpoint in Lahijan
Viewpoint in Lahijan

...still close to the Caspian Sea
HaramHaram
Haram

from left: My cousin Mohammad Ali, my uncle Ali and me in the patio of the biggest mosque in Mashad
DinnertimeDinnertime
Dinnertime

with my uncle Abbas and his wife. Persians love it to eat outside. And we were doing it all the time...
EsfahanEsfahan
Esfahan

...standing in front of the famous bridge called 'Sioseh-Pol' which means 33 Bridges because of the amount of archs carrying the bridge
Sioseh-Pol at nightSioseh-Pol at night
Sioseh-Pol at night

View on the bridge
Sioseh-Pol at nightSioseh-Pol at night
Sioseh-Pol at night

...and a little aisle on the bridge
And another bridgeAnd another bridge
And another bridge

Esfahan is really famous for its nice and old bridges.


24th April 2006

Hawaiian Beach Boy goes Iran, or what!
Hey dude! Whats up with you. Nice to see another of Travelblogs. I am really impressedwith your trip to Iran. Lot's of interesting pics that you have posted up here. Life here in Atlanta is good, also so I miss my islands in the sea. Last weekend I was experiencing the rest of spring break at famous Panama City Beach, Florida. Beach was awsome and so were the drunk American chicks ;-) Lets go for a bear when I am back in August. Aloha, Mat
27th April 2006

Hangloose is still alive...
Hey, really nice of hearing sth from u and to be honest I´m a little bit jealous because all of your pics are really cool and I´m since 4 weeks back in "good old Germany" but I´m really missing our island and the time there and I´m freezing all the time because I´ve been in Mexico and Costa Rica - surfing there is wonderful too *G* - before.... I wish u all the best and I´m looking forward for a Hawaii revival... Kisses, Judith
4th May 2006

Hey
Hey Darling! Hoffe du erinnerst dich noch an mich. Ich weiss ich hab schon ewig nichts mehr von mir hoperen lassen. Ich werd in anderhalb Wochen auch wieeder mal nach DTL fliegen um mal daheim zu besuchen. Ich stecke grade auch wieder mal in den Finals. Dieses Semester waren auch wieder viele Deustche da, aber laengst nich so cool wie letztes JAhr. Ihr wart echt cool und die Parties waren auch besser. Ich sitze grade in da class und muesste eigent;ich aufpassen. Aber was solls. Ich wuensch dir was! Bis bald Antje
30th December 2006

impressed
i just googled esfahan(the city i'm from) and i got in to this website. u have a very good eye for photography. I'm very impressed with ur work, i can tell u r not that old but so talented. I'm in atlanta now, i'll be happy to see more of ur work. great job
1st February 2008

nice hair!
I loved your hair!! you're sooooooooo funny man.... I don't think you're gonna read this... anyway.

Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 10; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0241s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb