Nose Job


Advertisement
Iran's flag
Middle East » Iran
October 5th 2004
Published: October 5th 2004
Edit Blog Post

Emam Mosque, EsfahanEmam Mosque, EsfahanEmam Mosque, Esfahan

For me, mosques usually look a too garish. In Iran, the style is different and they are definitely worth checking out. This one is probably the best.
Before coming to Iran, a lot of people told me this story about a traveller who, upon seeing an anti-western demonstration in Tehran (flag burning, etc.), goes up to the most angry looking demonstrator and introduces himself as English (or Inglistan as they say here). The angry man's face softens, and he gives the traveller a warm smile and handshake and says 'you are very welcome in Iran'. As it happens, this actually did happen to John Simpson of the BBC.

If you want to get a visa for Pakistan in Iran, forget it. For many, Iran is the end of the road for the Istanbul to Kathmandu trailers. I have met many of the biker community in Esfahan with their sooper-dooper BMW beasts, many of whom have had to turn back. A British or French passport is a nail in your coffin to any such travel plans.


Churchill said that Russia was 'a riddle wrapped inside a mystery inside an enigma'. I don't know any quotes about Iran (except ones about razing it to the ground), but it is pretty damn hard to nail down. One Iranian I met said that I would have to live here
Iranian WomenIranian WomenIranian Women

They want it and they are damn well going to get it (eventually). In the mean time they assert themselves whilst looking the other way.
for two years before I had the slightest chance of knowing what was going on. One aspect concerns the treatment of women. Everyone knows about the subjugation of women here and the lack of human rights they have. However, compare the experience of actually being here with the rest of this region and you get a totally different picture: women in most parts of the Middle East are very much in the background, seen but not heard. In Iran all women must cover their hair with a "hejab". However, they are visible everywhere. They actually have jobs and some speak good English(which means an education), are independent minded, headstrong and come up to talk to you. This may not sound like a lot if you are in the west, but in contrast to Syria/Jordan/Egypt/East Turkey it is a revelation. Also, every traveller bloke I have spoken to has also experienced the kissy faces and flirty looks from giggly girls (but watch out, it is illegal for a foreign bloke to get jiggy with an Iranian woman and a mullah may be hiding around the corner with a sharp pair of scissors!). Having said all of that, it is still a
There is a light that never goes outThere is a light that never goes outThere is a light that never goes out

Iran is the home of the Zoroastrian (fire worshipping) religion. This flame in Yazd has apparently been burning since 470AD.
mens' world from top to bottom but how long can it last with all of these pushy women around?

Oh, and my kingdom for a drink.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Iran is my proudIran is my proud
Iran is my proud

You always have to get a bad English pic when you go to a country.
Mad as a hatterMad as a hatter
Mad as a hatter

This guy from Shahr-e-Kord is not making a pie, he is making a Kurdish hat.
Another tea shopAnother tea shop
Another tea shop

Iran just needs a good pub.
Si-O-Se Bridge, EsfahanSi-O-Se Bridge, Esfahan
Si-O-Se Bridge, Esfahan

Okay, so my camera was a bit wonky.
View from Si-O-Se Bridge, EsfahanView from Si-O-Se Bridge, Esfahan
View from Si-O-Se Bridge, Esfahan

It has been a while since I posted a sunset shot, so here is one.
Inside the Si-O-Se BridgeInside the Si-O-Se Bridge
Inside the Si-O-Se Bridge

Guess what? Yet another bloody tea shop and they don't serve Scrumpy Jack, I can tell you that for free.


30th October 2004

Women
In my visti to Iran in October 2004, I happen to speak with an informed Iranian Judge who changed his occupation to being a Lawyer for financial reason. I told him about the three reasons the "West" critisized Iran: Treatment of prisoners, women's rights, and the terrorizm (maily the Israel issue). His response to the issue of women was an eye opener to me. He said the women in Iran are actually more protected than in the west. He believe the marriage in Iran, for example, provides certain rights to women that are not known to others. He got into more details about the customes and process of marriage and proved to me that women are happier there than men. He also said something that made me think. He said in US the divorce system punished the husband unjustly in order to give certain right to the wife. While in Iran, the women are already protected during a divorce. Anyways, I believe what he said to some degree. Thanks for reading, Mahmoud-
5th February 2005

"Iranian Women" or "Iranian Beggers"?
Well, I just saw your journal and the photoes inside it. What I want to comment on, is about the photo titled "Iranian Woman". I have to say this photo with its title is sort of mean because those two women with that kind of clothing and the stuff they had, can no way represent Iranian women since they are actually beggers! Yes they are beggers, whose photoes you have taken. Are you trying to say that Iranian women are beggers? or maybe they dress like beggers?! It was absolutly ok if you had titled the photo "Iranian Beggers" or at least "Iranian Women beggers" since this would be showing part of the fact but the title "Iranian women" has got nothing to do with the photo. If you try to look at it objectivley, and of course not subjectvley which seemingly you already have done, you would definitly agree with me that an average Iranian women never dresses like that. After all I have to count on the fact that you have some time been to Iran. So to be perfectly honest I can not accept it that the title has been just a mistake; what you have done seems more like a prejudiced attempt to show Iranian women mean, low and uneducated, THIS IS what a beggers photo most probably show to any visitor of this site on behalf of the general term "Iranian women"! - Hamid
7th February 2005

Beggars belief
Voltaire said: "I disapprove of what you say, but I will defend to the death your right to say it". I have not censored any comments on this site. I guess that I should add my tuppence to some of the Iran stuff, though.... In reply to Hamid: I only have your word that the women in the photo are beggars as they didn't ask for, nor did they receive any money from me. It happened that the photo was the best shot with Iranian women on it. To accuse me of any sort of prejudice or trying to imply that all Iranian women are beggars, low, or uneducated by showing this picture is simply bullshit. Read the text. I am also not misrepresenting all Iranian men as hat-makers in this blog. Applying your reasoning, if I had shown a picture of middle class Iranian women instead, that would also be a misrepresentation since not all Iranians are middle class, but I suspect you would not be so moved as to complain. In fact I can not win against your logic without showing a gallery of photos depicting the whole cross section of Iranian society. But so what if those women are beggars? Let me be frank: neither you nor I or anyone else are any better or worse than a beggar. Before you accuse someone of being prejudiced, re-read what you have written yourself, matey. In reply to comment #1: "women are happier there than men". When I first read this comment, I was reminded of a zookeeper asserting that some of the animals are happier in the zoo than in the wild. Whilst that *may* be true, it is not really the point, is it? By the way, the title "Nose Job" came from the fact that I saw so many young women (and a few men) in Tehran and elsewhere with big plasters on their face because they had just had nasal surgery. I didn't know what to make of it at the time. If I had taken a good picture of that it would have gone on the site. I wonder what the reaction would have been?
16th May 2006

Well done
great pictures I wouldve loved to see pictures of people walking around with andages on their noses, would be quite the sight! So, iran has no bars, or clubs?Other than shisha clubs? Life must be tough there.
22nd December 2007

fuck england
u can suck my iranian cock,fuck england and its ugly people. go fix your ugly ass teeth you slimmu sob;)
27th December 2007

Send me your email address when your tiny penis has been surgically enlarged and we can maybe sort something out.
21st March 2009

Re: I'll call it like I see
Anahita, if you want to be angry in defence if Iran, it is probably more instructive to direct your energy at heavily biased media reporting toward Iran and not a few paragraphs of a travel blog plus some photography which doesn't live up to your standards. Your post contains quite a lot of prejudice, which I find ironic.
27th April 2009

Those women are gipsy beggars dumbass!
Those women are gipsy beggars dumbass! Why don't you take a picture of your cock sucker mother and write under it "Queen Elizabeth II"?
29th April 2009

Re: Those women are gipsy beggars dumbass!
You are a clearly a racist snob, Ashkan.
18th November 2009

Let's be clear...
I am a Persian female and was very offended by the comments you made on the "Iranian Women". Very sexist and racist and completely uncalled for. The caption says: (Iranian Women : They want it and they are damn well going to get it (eventually). In the mean time they assert themselves whilst looking the other way.) These two poor beggars don't represent the Iranian women. They are begging. You must be blind not to see it.
8th January 2010

Re: Let's be clear...
Jesus! Everyone really hates the idea that these women might be beggars - get over it! As I think I have said before, I wouldn't expect complaints from someone from a poorer section of society if I had put up a picture of someone posh! All of this leads me to conclude that these people who have commented on this are snobs who like to look down on people in less fortunate circumstances than their own. Niki, if you would like to explain to me why you yourself are better than the women in this photo, I would be happy to hear it. The photo-caption (and indeed that part of the blog) was a comment on the paradoxial situation I saw during my very short stay there, where women were extremely assertive yet somehow ended up existing under a regime which treated them like shit. Explain why you consider that to be sexist or racist.

Tot: 0.129s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 15; qc: 111; dbt: 0.0795s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb